Start main page content

LINK teaching and research team

Our team provides teaching and research on policy, law, regulation and practice in response to diverse dimensions of the electronic communications and information and communication technology (ICT) ecosystem, including: digital transformation, innovation, cybersecurity, knowledge governance, digital government, broadcasting and digital media, chief information officer practice, and postal policy.

LINK Associates

LINK collaborates with a large number of industry and academic experts in delivery of its teaching, research and publication outputs, including the following past and present associates (listed in alphabetical order):

  • Mlamli Booi, Sentech (and founder of Z-Coms)
  • Nadia Bulbulia, National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
  • Izaak Coetzee, Telkom
  • Aynon Doyle, MultiChoice
  • Arthur Goldstuck, World Wide Worx
  • Ryan Hawthorne, Acacia Economics
  • John Isaac, Meraka Institute, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research
  • Dr. Abiodun Jagun, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Koffi Kouakou, Wits School of Governance
  • Linda Khumalo, Sollywood
  • Mandla Msimang, Pygma Consulting
  • Barry Myburgh, Joburg Centre for Software Engineering (JCSE)
  • Gerhard Petrick, MultiChoice
  • Prof. Simon Roberts, University College London and University of Johannesburg
  • Adrian Schofield, Joburg Centre for Software Engineering
  • Tobias Schonwetter, IP Unit, University of Cape Town
  • Mike Silber, Liquid Telecom
  • Dr. Kate Skinner, South African National Editors' Forum
  • Sizwe Snail, Snail Attorneys at Law
  • Johan Smit, Telkom
  • Prof. Rex van Olst, Wits School of Electrical and Information Engineering

LINK Alumni

LINK is grateful to the following past academic, research and associate personnel who contributed greatly to establishment and development of the Centre (listed in alphabetical order):

  • Dr. Peter Benjamin
  • Prof. Richard Collins
  • Steve Esselaar
  • Dr. Heather Ford
  • Prof. Alison Gillwald
  • Sean Kane
  • Dr. Charley Lewis
  • Dr. Gillian Marcelle
  • Dr. Nolwazi Mbananga
  • Prof. William Melody
  • Beki Nkala
  • Dr. Gordon Oyomno
  • Vanessa Phala
  • Dr. Andrew Rens
  • Aki Stavrou
  • Dr Christoph Stork
  • Dr. Simon White