Start main page content


Should you require any assistance on academic or administrative matters, kindly contact the relevant staff member below.

Admin Staff

Mrs Matshidiso Gumede - PGDip Eng; MSc; MEng (Prof) & PhD enquiries

Mrs Matshidiso Gumede - Undergraduate Officer
Undergraduate (1st to 4th years) enquiries

Mrs Liezel Herman - PA to Head of School 

Mrs Reghana Burns - Bookkeeper 

Ms Sibongile Maswanganye - Assistant Bookkeeper 

Ms Nombulelo Zulwayo - Clerical Assistant 

Academic Staff

Academic Staff
Professor Herman Potgieter Professor of Metallurgy                         
Professor Hurman Eric COM Professor in Extractive Metallurgy
Professor Lesley Cornish Director, ARAU Centre in Materials
Professor Sehliselo Ndlovu  DST/NRF Chair in Hydrometallurgy & Sustainable Development
Professor Thokozani Majozi  DST/NRF Chair in Sustainable Process Engineering
Professor Tony Paterson  SAIW Chair of Welding and Fabrication Engineering
Professor Sunny Iyuke Professor
Associate Professors:  
Professor Josias van der Merwe  Associate Professor - Head of School 
Professor Vusumuzi Sibanda  Associate Professor
Professor Jean Mulopo Associate Professor
Professor Nthabiseng Maledi  Associate ProfessorDi
Professor Lizelle van Dyk Associate Professor
Professor Geoffrey Simate Associate Professor
Professor Kevin Harding Associate Professor
Professor Mulenga Bwalya Associate Professor
Professor Diakanua Nkazi Associate Professor
Senior Lecturers:  
David Whitefield Senior Lecturer 
Paul den Hoed   Senior Lecturer 
Tom Hara  Senior Lecturer 
Shehzaad Kauchali  Senior Lecturer
Nandi Malumbazo  Senior Lecturer
Isabella Greeff Senior Lecturer 
Sehai Mokhahlane  Lecturer
Neil Stacey   Lecturer 
Martin Kabezya Lecturer 
Zama Mthabela   Lecturer 
Paul Chego   Lecturer 
Antony Higginson  Lecturer 
Associate Lecturer:  
Prebantha Moodley  Associate Lecturer
Senior Researcher:  
Samson Bada  Senior Researcher