Start main page content

Politics | Governance | Security | Migration

Department of Political Studies

Professor Daryl Glaser 

Department of Political StudiesSchool of Social Sciences 

Areas of interest and research: Theory and practice of democracy in South Africa 

+27 11 717 4373 

+27 76 140 7340 

Daryl.Glaser@wits.ac.za

Professor Sheila Meintjies

Department of Political StudiesSchool of Social Sciences

Areas of interest and research: Democracy in multicultural societies; feminist theory and gender politics; violence and conflict transformation.

+27 11 717 4371

+27 82 829 9208

Sheila.Meintjes@wits.ac.za

Dr Antje Schuhmann

Department of Political StudiesSchool of Social Sciences

Areas of interest and research: Gender-based violence; Women’s Movements and History; Gender equality and policies; Sexuality related issues; Political Violence; Xenophobia and Racism and Antisemitism; Reconciliation, Memory Politics and Transformation; Social Movements with a special focus on the USA and Europe; German politics, economics, and questions related to the European Union.

+27 11 717 4370

+27 79 651 9651

Antje.Schuhmann@wits.ac.za 

Professor Lawrence Hamilton

Department of Political StudiesSchool of Social Sciences

Areas of interest and research: South African politics; political economy; political judgementBooks: Freedom is Power and Are South Africans Free?

+27 82 494 9939

Lawrence.hamilton@wits.ac.za

School of Governance

Professor Anthoni van Nieuwkerk

Centre for Defence and Security Management, School of Governance

Areas of interest and research: Policy analysis; foreign policy; international relations; African politics; African security

+27 11 717 3927

+27 83 324 5005

Anthoni.vannieuwkerk@wits.ac.za

Professor Alex Van Den Heever

School of Governance

Areas of interest and research: Comprehensive social security policy and health policy 

+27 11 717 3944

Alex.vandenheever@wits.ac.za

Professor Pundy Pillay

School of Governance

Areas of interest and research: Public finance; public policy

+27 83 643 1100

Pundy.pillay@wits.ac.za

Society, Work and Development Institute

Professor Roger Southall 

Society, Work and Development Institute

Areas of interest and research: Politics 

+27 72 731 4552 

Roger.Southall@wits.ac.za 

Professor Karl von Holdt 

Director: Society Work and Development Institute

+27 11 717 4462

Karl@yeoville.org.za

Wits Institute for Social and Economic Research

Professor Sarah Nuttall

Director: Wits Institute for Social and Economic Research

+27 717 4226+27 82 887 7169

Sarah.nuttall@wits.ac.za

Professor Achille Mbembe

Wits Institute for Social and Economic Research

Areas of interest and research: African history and politics

+27 11717 4225

+27 82 887 7159

Achille.Mbembe@wits.ac.za 

Department of International Relations

Associate Professor Vishwas Satgar 

Department of International RelationsSchool of Social Sciences

+27 82 775 3420 

Vishwas.satgar@wits.ac.za

Professor John Stremlau

Department of International RelationsSchool of Social Sciences

Areas of interest and research: US-Africa relations; China; International politics and relations+27 76 930 1860

John.Stremlau@wits.ac.za

Dr Michelle Small

Department of International Relations, Social Sciences

Areas of expertise/interest/research: Conflict in Africa; urban violence; election violence; elections in Africa

+27 76 023 6047

Michelle.Small@wits.ac.za

Department of Anthropology

Dr Kelly Gillespie

Department of AnthropologySchool of Social Sciences

Areas of interest and research: Criminal justice, political and legal anthropology, South African history, race, and sexuality

+27 11 717 4406

Kelly.gillespie@wits.ac.za

Department of Sociology

Professor Devan Pillay Department of SociologySchool of Social Sciences

+27 84 556 2131

+27 11 717 4425

Devan.pilay@wits.ac.za

History 

Noor Nieftagodien

Head: History Workshop and South African Research Chair (SARCHi): Local Histories, Present Realities, School of Social Sciences

Areas of interest and research: History

Published books: Co-author of Ekurhuleni: The Making of an Urban Region, Soweto: An Illustrated History, Alexandra: a history, The Soweto Uprising, The Making of Apartheid in Springs: Group Areas and Forced Removals, Orlando West, Soweto

+27 11 717 4266

+27 82 457 4103

Noor.nieftagodien@wits.ac.za

Tshepo Moloi

History Research Group, School of Social Sciences

Areas of interest and research: Local history/politics; student and youth politics; protest politics

Published book: A Place of Thorns: Black Political Protest in Kroonstad From 1976 (Wits Press, 2015)

+27 11 717 4293

Tshepo.Moloi@wits.ac.za

Gabriele Mohale

Archivist, Historical Papers Research Archive

Areas of interest and research: Apartheid archives; History

+27 82 452 8795+27 11 717 1940

gabriele.mohale@wits.ac.za 

African Centre for Migration & Society

Professor Loren Landau

South African Research Chair in Mobility and the Politics of Difference: African Centre for Migration & Society

Areas of interest and research: Migration; immigration; xenophobia; local government; urban planning

+27 11 717 4038

+27 83 453 4183

Loren@migration.org.za or Loren.landau@wits.ac.za 

African Centre for the Study of the United States

Dr Bob Wekesa  

African Centre for the Study of the United States  

Areas of expertise/interest/research: Communications, media, and journalism; public diplomacy; geopolitics; international studies 

+27 11 719 1997    

+27 76 345 7839    

Bob.Wekesa@wits.ac.za 

Share