Start main page content

Online resources

Wits makes a number of resources for learning and personal development available online so they can be accessed anytime and anywhere that there is a connection to the internet.

ulwazi

ulwazi runs on Canvas, a modern, powerful, Cloud-based Learning Management System (LMS). ulwazi enables academic staff to design learning experiences, provide educational resources, promote student engagement and interactions and assess student learning through dedicated course sites.

Click here for information on how to access ulwazi and get support.

For lecturers that are new to ulwazi and using the LMS for the first time for teaching and learning, the CLTD has created resources to assist you with designing and building your course site. Please self-enrol into the Technologies for Teaching course site here.

Wits University Library Resources

Library Web site: The Library Online Catalogue, branch contacts and operating hours, online databases, journals, e books, exams, social media and more...

A-Z Database list: An A-Z list of the Library subscribed databases available online, find online articles by searching across all databases or on a specific database

Ask-a-Librarian: A web-based reference service, allowing students and academics staff to post a question to a librarian) 

Quick Self Help Information: Guides on commonly asked questions

LibGuidesAn A-Z list of subject guides covering the most relevant resources related to that area of study

Application for new Educational Technology Software

Wits staff can apply for new educational technology software. This may include tools for teaching, learning, and assessments. Please ensure you check the existing software licenses we have before sending an application. Click here to send an application or contact your faculty representative on the Educational Technology Committee (ETC) to assist. Be sure to connect to the Wits network first (VPN)

Faculty Contacts

Name & Contact

Faculty

Anne Fitchett
anne.fitchett@wits.ac.za
0117177107

Rodney Genga
rodney.genga@wits.ac.za
0117177067

Engineering and Built environment

Alex Wafer
alex.wafer@wits.ac.za
0117176517

Phiwokuhle Dlamini
phiwokuhle.dlamini@wits.ac.za
0117176131

Science

Paula Barnard-Ashton
paula.barnard-ashton@wits.ac.za
0117173259

Stuart Pattinson
stuart.pattinson@wits.ac.za
0117172786

Health Sciences

Nora-Lee Wales
nora-lee.wales@wits.ac.za
0117171000

Colette Gordon
colette.gordon@wits.ac.za
0117174102

Humanities

Fiona Macalister
fiona.macalister@wits.ac.za
0117171000

Greig Krull
greig.krull@wits.ac.za
0117178042

Commerce, Law and Management

Share