Faculty of Science

Start main page content

Contact us

Undergraduate Enquiries: science.ug@wits.ac.za
Postgraduate Enquiries: science.pg@wits.ac.za
MSc Enquiries: science.msc@wits.ac.za
PhD Enquiries: science.phd@wits.ac.za
General Enquiries: bsc1@science.wits.ac.za

Physical Address

The Faculty of Science is housed in the TW Kambule Building (Mathematical Sciences Building) on West Campus. The Building also houses the School of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics (CSAM), School of Statistics and Actuarial Science (SSAS), School of Mathematics, DST/NRF Centre of Excellence in Mathematical and Statistical Sciences (CoE-MaSS) and Centre for Mathematical and Computational Sciences (CMACS).

Dean and Assistant Deans
Prof. Nithaya Chetty (011)7176012   Executive Dean Nithaya.Chetty@wits.ac.za
Prof. Moira Bode
(011) 7176744
Assistant Dean: Postgraduate Affairs
Prof. Willem Conradie
(011) 7176333
Assistant Dean: Teaching and Learning
Prof. Dave Billing
(011) 717 6759
Assistant Dean: Infrastructure and Operations
Prof. Sarah Wurz
(011) 7176587
Assistant Dean: Staff Development
Prof. Martin Ntwaeaborwa (011) 7176887 Assistant Dean: Research and Innovation Martin.Ntwaeaborwa@wits.ac.za
Ms Nerrene Bentley (011) 7176012 Dean’s Executive Secretary Nerene.Bentley1@wits.ac.za 
Academic Administration
Valerie John
(011) 717 6006
Faculty Registrar
Leeshia Roopnarain
(011) 717 6002
Senior Faculty Officer (PG)
Mpumi Mnqapu
(011) 717 6021
Senior Faculty Officer (PG)
Botlhale Thupudi
(011) 717 6004
Senior Faculty Officer (PG)
Nadia Smith
(011) 717 6007
Senior Faculty Officer (UG)
Nokwazi Maseko
(011) 717 6003
Senior Faculty Officer (UG)
Melanie van Wyk
(011) 717 6005
Senior Faculty Officer (UG)
Bridget Marvis
(011) 717 6013
Administrative Secretary
Neliswa Sithole
(011) 717 6014
Office Administrator (Reception)
Heads of School
Name Telephone Position Email
Prof. Neville Pillay
(011) 7176422
Animal, Plant and Environmental Sciences
Prof. Dean Brady
(011) 7176745
Prof. Joel Moitsheki
(011) 7176133
School of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics
Prof. Gillian Drennan
(011) 7176553
Prof. Paida Mhangara
(011) 7176541
Geography, Archaeology and Environmental Studies
Prof. Abdul Kara
(011) 7176242
Prof. Marianne Cronje
(011) 7176343
Molecular and Cell Biology
Prof. Deena Naidoo
(011) 7176866
Prof. Stephen Jurisich
(011) 7176275
Statistics and Actuarial Science
Science Teaching and Learning Centre
Dr Kershree Padayachee
(011) 7176106
Human Resources
Name Telephone Position Email
Yoosuf Hassim (011) 7171434 Human Resources Manager  
Zandi Mbaleki (011) 7171432 Senior Human Resources Officer Zandi.Mbaleki@wits.ac.za
Thato Tlhabanyane (011) 7171423 Senior Human Resources Officer Thato.Tlhabanyane@wits.ac.za  
Refilwe Setuki (011) 7171437 Human Resources Officer Refilwe.Setuki@wits.ac.za  
Mannoi Ramabolu  (011) 7171435  Human Resources Administrative Officer Ramabolu.Mannoi@wits.ac.za
Name Telephone Position Email
Cate Mukansi (011) 7176010 Financial and Business Manager Cate.Mukansi@wits.ac.za
Niethia Naidoo (011) 7176022 Faculty Accountant Niethia.Naidoo@wits.ac.za
Charmaine Sunker (011) 7176024 Project Accountant Charmaine.Sunker@wits.ac.za
Belinda Harry (011) 7176020 Procurement Officer Belinda.Harry@wits.ac.za
Angel Kubheka (011) 7176018 Financial Administrative Assistant Angel.Kubheka@wit.ac.za  
Thandokuhle Zondo (011) 7176792 Financial Administrative Assistant Thandokuhle.Zondo@wits.ac.za