Faculty of Science

Start main page content

Contact us

Undergraduate Enquiries: science.ug@wits.ac.za
Postgraduate Enquiries: science.pg@wits.ac.za
MSc Enquiries: science.msc@wits.ac.za
PhD Enquiries: science.phd@wits.ac.za
General Enquiries: bsc1@science.wits.ac.za

Physical Address

The Faculty of Science is housed in the TW Kambule Building (Mathematical Sciences Building) on West Campus. The Building also houses the School of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics (CSAM), School of Statistics and Actuarial Science (SSAS), School of Mathematics, DST/NRF Centre of Excellence in Mathematical and Statistical Sciences (CoE-MaSS) and Centre for Mathematical and Computational Sciences (CMACS).

Dean and Assistant Deans
NameTelephonePositionEmail
Prof. Nithaya Chetty (011)7176012   Executive Dean Nithaya.Chetty@wits.ac.za
Prof. Moira Bode
(011) 7176744
Assistant Dean: Postgraduate Affairs
Moira.Bode@wits.ac.za 
Prof. Willem Conradie
(011) 7176333
Assistant Dean: Teaching and Learning
Prof. Dave Billing
(011) 717 6759
Assistant Dean: Infrastructure and Operations
Prof. Sarah Wurz
(011) 7176587
Assistant Dean: Staff Development
Prof. Martin Ntwaeaborwa (011) 7176887 Assistant Dean: Research and Innovation Martin.Ntwaeaborwa@wits.ac.za
Ms Nerrene Bentley (011) 7176012 Dean’s Executive Secretary Nerene.Bentley1@wits.ac.za 
Academic Administration
Name Telephone Position Email
René Vosloo (011) 7176006 Faculty Registrar Rene.Vosloo@wits.ac.za
Bridget Marvis (011) 7176013 Administrative Secretary Bridget.Marvis@wits.ac.za
Nadia Smith (011) 7176007 Senior Faculty Officer (UG) Nadia.Smith@wits.ac.za
Mpumi Mnqapu (011) 7176021 Senior Faculty Officer (PG) Mpumi.Mnqapu1@wits.ac.za
Neliswa Sithole (011) 7176014 Office Administrator (Reception) Neliswa.Sithole@wits.ac.za
Louise Du Plooy (011) 7176004 Senior Faculty Officer (PG) Louise.DuPlooy@wits.ac.za  
Leeshia Roopnarain (011) 7176002 Senior Faculty Officer (PG) Leeshia.Roopnarain@wits.ac.za
Botlhale Madibeng (011) 7176005 Faculty Officer (UG) Botlhale.Madibeng@wits.ac.za
Nokwazi Maseko (011) 7176003 Senior Faculty Officer (UG) Nokwazi.Maseko@wits.ac.za  
Heads of School
Name Telephone Position Email
Prof. Neville Pillay
(011) 7176422
Animal, Plant and Environmental Sciences
Prof. Dean Brady
(011) 7176745
Chemistry
Prof. Joel Moitsheki
(011) 7176133
School of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics
Prof. Gillian Drennan
(011) 7176553
Geosciences
Prof. Paida Mhangara
(011) 7176541
Geography, Archaeology and Environmental Studies
Prof. Abdul Kara
(011) 7176242
Mathematics
Prof. Marianne Cronje
(011) 7176343
Molecular and Cell Biology
Prof. Deena Naidoo
(011) 7176866
Physics
Prof. Stephen Jurisich
(011) 7176275
Statistics and Actuarial Science
Science Teaching and Learning Centre
Name
Telephone
Position
Email
Dr Kershree Padayachee
(011) 7176106
STLC 
Human Resources
Name Telephone Position Email
Yoosuf Hassim (011) 7171434 Human Resources Manager  
Zandi Mbaleki (011) 7171432 Senior Human Resources Officer Zandi.Mbaleki@wits.ac.za
Thato Tlhabanyane (011) 7171423 Senior Human Resources Officer Thato.Tlhabanyane@wits.ac.za  
Refilwe Setuki (011) 7171437 Human Resources Officer Refilwe.Setuki@wits.ac.za  
Mannoi Ramabolu  (011) 7171435  Human Resources Administrative Officer Ramabolu.Mannoi@wits.ac.za
Finance
Name Telephone Position Email
Cate Mukansi (011) 7176010 Financial and Business Manager Cate.Mukansi@wits.ac.za
Niethia Naidoo (011) 7176022 Faculty Accountant Niethia.Naidoo@wits.ac.za
Charmaine Sunker (011) 7176024 Project Accountant Charmaine.Sunker@wits.ac.za
Belinda Harry (011) 7176020 Procurement Officer Belinda.Harry@wits.ac.za
Angel Kubheka (011) 7176018 Financial Administrative Assistant Angel.Kubheka@wit.ac.za  
Thandokuhle Zondo (011) 7176792 Financial Administrative Assistant Thandokuhle.Zondo@wits.ac.za
Share