Start main page content


The South African Research Chair Initiative is a division of the NRF - designed to maintain excellence in research across all public universities in South Africa. 

"Research Chairs are held by a university in partnership with a public research institution such as: another university, a science council, a national research facility or an academic health complex. Since inception, 150 Research Chairs were awarded to 21 public universities across the country in open and directed categories; priority research areas; science and technology for poverty alleviation; innovation, engineering and technology development; and within the national science and technology missions."

SARChI in Humanities
SARChI in Health Sciences
SARChI in Science
SARChI in Engineering
SARChI in Commerce, Law and Management