Start main page content

Molecular Medicine and Haematology

The Division of Molecular Medicine and Haematology, a joint initiative of the University of the Witwatersrand (WITS) and the National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS), is characterised by diversity in its capabilities, contribution to teaching and training, research activities, and staff interests and skill sets. The division comprises a number of specialised units each of which addresses unique basic science and research, in addition to clinical and diagnostic aspects pertinent to Molecular Medicine and Haematology.

The division is represented in all five main teaching hospitals attached to the faculty, namely Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital (CMJAH), Chris Hani Baragwanath hospital (CHBH), Helen Joseph Hospital, Rahima Moosa Children’s Hospital and the Wits Donald Gordon Medical Centre. We continue to play a critical role in delivering quality diagnostic services to patients in South Africa both in the public and private sector, provincially and nationally.

The division is involved in extensive undergraduate teaching in a number of courses in the Faculty and facilitates training for a number of postgraduate students, as well as specialist training to registrars preparing for College of Medicine examinations.