Start main page content

Academic Development and Transformation

Academic Development Unit

The Academic Development Unit (ADU) is there to help students who feel that they are in danger of jeopardizing their studies by struggling in one or two subjects. The ADU can assist with extra tutorials in those subjects you need help with. Contact us as soon as you experience problems.

The AD tutorials are AVAILABLE for all students, even if you are not identified by Blackboard to attend the tutorials. You simply pitch up at the tutorials and introduce yourself to the tutor, even if you are an A-student who just wishes to get extra attention!

We offer Engineering and Built Environment mainstream students support in:

  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Mechanics
  • Chemistry
  • Language and Communication
  • Computer skills

Contact us:

3rd Floor, East Wing
Chamber of Mines Building (D-Lab Extension, Upper Ground)
Email: aid.adu@wits.ac.za
Tel: (011) 717 7062 or (011) 717 7035

Transformation

The School of Mechanical, Industrial and Aeronautical Engineering Transformation Committee works to ensure that its students’ experience is characterised by a culture of human rights and inclusivity. 

Anyone who experiences any form of discrimination within the School may report their complaint to Prof. C Polese or to Ms C Smith at the Wits Transformation and Employment Equity Office. Discrimination may include, but is not limited to racism, sexism, transphobia, homophobia, xenophobia, ableism or classism.

All reports of discrimination are treated confidentially.

Contacts

Chair of the School Transformation Committee:

Prof. Claudia Polese

Office: SWE 121

Telephone: 011-71-77342

Email: Claudia.Polese@wits.ac.za

Members of the School Transformation Committee:

Ms Nikki Basson: Nikki.Basson@wits.ac.za

Mr Michael Boer: Michael.Boer@wits.ac.za

Mr Mabudulle Kgasago (Norman): Mabudulle.Kgasago@wits.ac.za

Ms Chioniso Kuchwa-Dube: Chioniso.Kuchwa-Dube@wits.ac.za

Ms Portia Marks: Portia.Marks@wits.ac.za

Dr Randall Paton: Randall.Paton@wits.ac.za

Ms Tebogo Rakhudu: Tebogo.Rakhudu@wits.ac.za

Ms Bontle Tladi: Bontle.Tladi@wits.ac.za

 

Share