Start main page content

ESI staff

Academic Staff

Full-time academic staff

Professor M Bamford

Professor, ESI Director

Shaw Badenhorst

Associate Professor

Julien Benoit

Senior Lecturer

Jennifer Botha

Professor; Seconded to the DSI-NRF Centre of Excellence in Palaeosciences

Jonah Choiniere

Professor of Comparative Palaeobiology

Pierre Durand


Cameron Penn-Clarke

Senior Lecturer

Other academic staff

Christopher Henshilwood

Distinguished Professor; Director of SapienCe Centre of Excellence in Bergen, Norway

Roger Smith

Distinguished Professor

Bruce Rubidge

Distinguished Professor

Lyn Wadley

NRF A-1 Rated professor

Support Staff
Mr Gideon Chinamatira

Scanning Manager

Dr Sifelani Jirah

Collections Manager

Mr Thapelo Moletsane

Finance Officer

Ms Nelly Nkosi


Dr Bernhard Zipfel

Collections Curator

Technical Staff
Mrs Prosper Bande

Fossil preparator

Mr Wilfred Bilankulu

Fossil preparator

Mr Charlton Dube

Techn 2; Fossil preparator

Mr Gerry Germishuizen

Senior Technician

Mr Mabothe Louw

Fossil preparator

Ms Bonisiwe Mokomo

Fossil preparator

Mr Abel Molepolle

Sterkfontein technician

Mr Thilivhali Nemavhundi

Fossil preparator

Mr Bongani Nkosi

Casting technician

Ms Recognise Sambo

Curatorial assistant

Mr Lucas Sekowe

Sterkfontein technician

Postdoctoral fellows