Start main page content

EIE staff are available to assist you, should you have any questions or queries relating to your undergraduate studies or postgraduate research at the School of Electrical and Information Engineering. Please see the Contact Us page for exactly who to contact, depending on your query.

If you are interested in contractual research, consulting or other academic activites, please either contact a member of staff directly, or see our Industry Partnerships page for more information.

Academic Staff
Prof Ian Jandrell Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment Electric Power Research Group
Prof Estelle Trengove Head of School Electric Power Research Group
Prof David Dorrell Distinguished Professor Electric Power Research Group
Prof Ling Cheng Professor Center for Telecommunications Access and Services | Optical Communication Lab
Prof Willie Cronje Professor Electric Power Research Group 
Prof Barry Dwolatzky Professor Software Engineering Research Group
Prof Chandima Gomes Professor  Electric Power Research Group | Johannesburg Lightning Research Lab
Prof Scott Hazelhurst Professor Software Engineering Research Group

Prof Fambirai Takawira

Professor Center for Telecommunications Access and Services
Prof Anton Van Wyk Professor Systems and Control Research Group
Prof Turgay Celik Professor Software Engineering Research Group
Prof Michiel Postema Visiting Professor Biomedical Engineering Research Group
Prof Ekow Otoo Visiting Professor Software Engineering Research Group
Prof Vered Aharonson Associate Professor Biomedical Engineering Research Group
Prof Alan Clark Associate Professor Electric Power Research Group
Prof Ivan Hofsajer Associate Professor Future Electrical Engineering Technology Research Group
Prof Ken Nixon Associate Professor Software Engineering Research Group | Johannesburg Lightning Research Lab
Prof Cuthbert Nyamupangedengu Associate Professor Electric Power Research Group
Prof John Van Coller Associate Professor Electric Power Research Group
Prof Brian Wigdorowitz Associate Professor Systems and Control Research Group
Prof Olutayo Oyerinde Associate Professor Center for Telecommunications Access and Services
Prof David Rubin Adjunct Professor Biomedical Engineering Research Group
Prof Hu Hanrahan Emeritus Professor  
Dr Hugh Hunt Senior Lecturer Electric Power Research Group | Johannesburg Lightning Research Lab
Dr Stephen Levitt Senior Lecturer Software Engineering Research Group
Dr Lesedi Masisi Senior Lecturer

Future Electrical Engineering Technology Research Group | Electric Power Research Group

Dr Otis Nyandoro Senior Lecturer Systems and Control Research Group
Dr Jules Moualeu Senior Lecturer Center for Telecommunications Access and Services
Dr Mercy Shuma-Iwisi Senior Lecturer Electric Power Research Group
Dr Nicholas West Senior Lecturer Electric Power Research Group
Dr Mitchell Cox Lecturer Center for Telecommunications Access and Services | Optical Communication Lab
Dr Chabalala Chabalala Lecturer Center for Telecommunications Access and Services
Dr Xriz Richards Lecturer  Biomedical Engineering Research Group
Mr Abdul-Khaaliq Mohamed Lecturer Biomedical Engineering Research Group
Mr Shamin Achari Lecturer Center for Telecommunications Access and Services | Optical Communication Lab
Mr James Braid Lecturer Future Electrical Engineering Technology Research Group
Mr Adam Pantanowitz Lecturer Biomedical Engineering Research Group
Ms Yu-Chieh (Jessie) Yen Lecturer Future Electrical Engineering Technology Research Group
Mr Craig Carlson Associate Lecturer  Biomedical Engineering Research Group 
Ms Jessica Breakey Associate Lecturer  
Mr Viv Crone Sessional Lecturer  
Dr Renier Dreyer Sessional Lecturer  
Administrative Staff

Mrs Moeniera Ismail

Admin Manager

moeniera.ismail@wits.ac.za 

Mrs Mumtaz Adams

Postgrad Officer

mumtaz.adams@wits.ac.za 

Ms Jeannine Davids

Receptionist | Admin Assistant

jeannine.davids@wits.ac.za 

Mrs Jeanne Do O Faustino

Bookkeeper

jeanne.doofaustino@wits.ac.za 

Mrs Morgan Buntting

Assistant Bookkeeper | Admin Assistant

morgan.buntting@wits.ac.za

Ms Thabiso Motsei

Senior Secretary

thabiso.motsei@wits.ac.za 

Mrs Jassika Sheikh

Senior Secretary (JCSE)

jassika.sheikh@wits.ac.za 

Technical Staff

Mr Jabulani Khumalo

Technical Assisstant

jabulani.khumalo@wits.ac.za 

Mr Kyle Lutchmanen

Senior Technician

kyle.lutchmanen@wits.ac.za 

Mr Phillip Mabaso

Technical Assisstant

phillip.mabaso@wits.ac.za 

Mr Abraham Mkwanazi

Technical Assisstant

abraham.mkwanazi@wits.ac.za 

Mr Tau Manchidi

Soft-tronics Technician

tau.manchidi@wits.ac.za 

Ms Veronicah Moloi

Electronics Workshop Assistant

veronicah.moloi@wits.ac.za 

Mr Ahmed Moosa

Network Engineer/Manager

ahmed.moosa@wits.ac.za 

Mr Sfiso Mtsweni

Senior Technician

sfiso.mtsweni@wits.ac.za 

Mr David Tshabalala

Principal Technician

david.tshabalala@wits.ac.za 

Mr Sakhi Xaba

Technical Assistant

sakhi.xaba@wits.ac.za 

Share