Start main page content


The Wits Neurological Surgery Circuit is made up of the following units:

  • Chris Hani Baragwanath Academic Hospital
  • Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital
  • Helen Joseph Hospital
  • Klerksdorp/Tshepong Hospital Complex
  • Thelle Mogoerane Hospital
  • Nelson Mandela Children’s Hospital
  • Leratong Hospital

The circuit offers comprehensive neurosurgical services to Southern Gauteng, North West and Northern Free State Province. This includes both general neurosurgery and subspecialty fields. The sub speciality services offered include:

  • Vascular and endovascular
  • Neuro – oncology
  • Spine
  • Skull base
  • Neurotrauma
  • Paediatric neurosurgery
  • Pituitary
Vision and Mission

To learn, discover, heal, create and make the world ever better for  patients and families with neurological disorders

Our Vision:

Patient care: to provide the highest quality and innovative care for neurology patients
Research: to be at the forefront of research of common neurological disorders
Education: to be among the best training programs for future clinical and academic neurologists

Research interest
  • Gliomas
  • Sub arachnoid haemorrhage and Vasospasm
  • Intracranial infections
  • Traumatic brain injury
  • Peadiatrics: Oncology, myelomeningocele
  • Minimally invasive/endoscopic approaches: both spine and brain
Teaching Program
Undergraduate Teaching

The department is involved in teaching various undergraduate students. These include medical students, dentistry students, physiotherapy students, occupational therapy students and speech therapy and audiology students. Teaching is done via lectures, PBL’s (problem based learning) and bedside clinical tutorials.

Postgraduate Teaching

The department is involved in teaching neurology registrars, internal medicine registrars and psychiatry registrars. Teaching is done via bedside clinical tutorials and academic presentations. Registrars present lectures on neurological conditions or their MMED data at academic meetings organised by the Internal medicine departments at the 3 academic hospitals as well as the Neurosciences combined academic meetings. Consultants in the department also present lectures regularly at the WITS Physicians Update as well as for the Diploma of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (DTM&H) run by the University of the Witwatersrand and the National Institute of Communicable diseases (NICD).

Neurology circuit

We attend to all neurological conditions at our general Neurological Outpatient Clinic, and we have specialised clinics, viz:

  • Epilepsy Clinic – we manage patients with different epileptic syndromes
  • Movement Disorder Clinic – we manage patients with Parkinsons disease and other movement disorders
  • BOTOX Clinic – we administer BOTOX to patients with dystonias and spasticity
  • CIDP Clinic – we administer intravenous steroids according to our protocol to patients with chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyradiculoneuropathies(CIDP) and variants
  • Nerve Conduction / EMG Clinic – we perform electrophysiological studies to assist in diagnosis neuromuscular disorders.

At all 3 units we are supported by dedicated electroencephalography (EEG) departments run by qualified clinical technologists and EEG technicians performing EEG’s on adult as well as paediatric patients.

  • CMJAH: 1 Clinical technologist + 2 EEG technicians
  • CHBAH: 1 Clinical technologist + 3 EEG technicians
  • Helen Joseph: 1 EEG technician.
Dr. Kalpesh Deraji Jivan

Dr. Kalpesh Deraji Jivan is a specialist neurologist in private practice and a member of the Faculty of Neurosciences at Wits University. A proud Kopite, Dr Jivan has published peer-reviewed papers on the management of stroke; amongst other research interests. In 2015 he was one of two inaugural recipients of the Austrian Neurology Department Observership Program, facilitated by the World Federation of Neurology and Austrian Neurological Society. During this observership he spent time in the neurology ICU at Innsbruck Medical University. His areas of interest include strokes and functional disorders.

Dr Eitzaz Sadiq

Dr Eitzaz Sadiq completed his specialist Neurology training at The University of the Witwatersrand in 2012, and is currently based at Helen Joseph Hospital as a senior consultant.  He has a special interest in Risk Predictors for Stroke, and is a PhD candidate in the subject. His other current research interests include Optic Neuritis (in collaboration with St John's Eye Hospital) and Diabetic Neuropathy.

Dr Makwela

Dr Makwela completed a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery in 2005 at the University of the Free State. She then completed specialist training in Neurology at the University of the Witwatersrand and obtained my Fellowship in Neurology from the Colleges of Medicine of South Africa. She has a Master of Medicine from the University of the Witwatersrand. Her areas of interest include movement disorders and vascular neurology.

Professor and Chief Specialist


Professor Andre Mochan

Dr Rachel Nossel

Dr Ziporah Katz

Registrars in training

Dr Ahshish Govind

Has attained FCNeurol(SA) with College of Medicine of South Africa.

  • Research: Electroencephalographic changes in primary headache disorders

Dr Annita Koufos

Has attained FCNeurol(SA) with College of Medicine of South Africa

Dr Simphiwe Mandlesilo

Has attained FCNeurol(SA) with College of Medicine of South Africa

Dr Keobakile Leshogo

Dr Rifiloe Mashitela

Dr Nikki Floudiotis

  • Research: Motor Neuron Disease in Black patients at a tertiary hospital in South Africa

Dr Jan Visagie

  • Research: The Frequency of HIV in Patients with Newly Diagnosed Bell’s Palsy at a Tertiary Centre

Dr Annsureeka Ganesh

Dr Tendo Nemutudi

Dr Dayo Akinbohun

Dr Kareli Jonker

Dr Kabaenda Muwowo