Start main page content

Research in the Faculty of Commerce, Law and Management


A key objective of the Faculty of Commerce Law and Management (CLM) is to strengthen the research culture amongst its five schools and to improve the research performance of its academic staff.
The Faculty Research Committee encourages individual research excellence and promotes collaborative research by providing academic staff and schools with a range of research incentives supported by professional research management practices.

The Faculty has a newly established Research Office that is mandated to provide specialist support to research since it is the core activity of CLM and the University. The office is committed to developing new research capacity as well as nourishing the existing excellence as part of its implementation of the CLM Research Strategy.

The Faculty Research Committee provides opportunities and support to academic staff to:

  • attend and participate in international and local conferences,
  • undertake small research projects,
  • apply for a professional rating by the prestigious National Research Foundation (NRF),
  • be inducted into research as part of the responsibilities of every CLM academic
  • and receive mentorship opportunities that are needed to develop research capacity and confidence.

The Research Office also manages research publications data as well as the research incentive accounts of Schools and individual research-active academics. To promote research output and encourage inter-faculty dialogue amongst academic members, the FRC helps to convene seminars and colloquia.

For further research-related matters, refer to:

Assistant Dean: Research and Chair of the FRC
Prof. Jason Cohen
Tel: 011 717 8164
Senior Faculty Officer: CLM Faculty Research Office 
Mr. Selelo Matimolane
Tel: 011 717 8015
Faculty Research Committee Member for School of Law:
Mr. Sanele Sibanda
Tel: 011 717 8485 
Faculty Research Committee Member for the Graduate School of Business Administration: 
Prof. Eric Schaling
Tel: 011 717 3660 
Faculty Research Committee Member for School of Economic and Business Sciences: 
Prof. Chimwemwe Chipeta
Tel: 011 717 8145 
Faculty Research Committee Member for School of Accountancy: 
Ms. Depika Singh 
Tel: 011 717 8230
Faculty Research Committee Member for the Wits School of Governance: 
Prof. Pundy Pillay
Tel: 011 717 3808 
Faculty Research Committee Member - Lecturer Representative  School of Economic and Business Sciences: 
Dr. Suvera Boodhoo
Tel: 011 717 9999  

 "Strengthening Research Culture and Improving Research Performance!"