Start main page content

Permanent academic staff

Deena Naidoo

Head of School and Professor | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: P101 | 011 717 6866 | deena.naidoo@wits.ac.za 

Pallab Basu

Senior Lecturer | Research interests: High Energy Theory | Office: P206 | 011 717 6839 | pallab.basu@wits.ac.za

Geoffrey Beck

Senior Lecturer | Research interests: Astronomy and Astrophysics | Office: P221 | 011 717 6841 | geoffrey.beck@wits.ac.za 

Somnath Bhattacharyya

Professor | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: P4 | 011 717 6811 | somnath.bhattacharyya@wits.ac.za 

Andrew Chen

Professor | Research interests: Astronomy and Astrophysics | Office: P106B | 011 717 6869 | andrew.chen@wits.ac.za 

Robert De Mello Koch

Professor | DST-NRF Chair in Fundamental Physics and String Theory | Research interests: High Energy Theory | Office: P121 | 011 717 6841 | robert.demellokoch@wits.ac.za 

Roger Deane

Professor | Chair In Radio Astronomy | Research interests: Astronomy and Astrophysics | Office: P103 |011717 6803 | roger.deane@wits.ac.za 

William Dinwoodie

Senior Tutor | Research interests: Physics Education | Office: P203 | 011 717 6832 | william.dinwoodie@wits.ac.za 

Angela Dudley

Lecturer | Research interests: Photonics | Office: PM15 | 011 717 6829 | angela.dudley@wits.ac.za 

Rudolph Erasmus

Senior Lecturer | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: PM1 | 011 717 6859 | rudolph.erasmus@wits.ac.za 

Philippe Ferrer

Associate Professor | Research interests: Plasma propulsion for space applications | Office: P205 | 011 717 6865 | philippe.ferrer@wits.ac.za 

Andrew Forbes

Distinguished Professor | Research interests: Photonics | Office: P111 | 011 717 6885 | andrew.forbes@wits.ac.za 

Kelvin Goldstein

Professor | Research interests: High Energy Theory | Office: P130 | 011 717 6840 | kevin.goldstein@wits.ac.za 

Shinji Hirano

Senior Lecturer | Research interests: High Energy Theory | Office: P239 | 011 717 6881 | shinji.hirano@wits.ac.za 

Vishnu Jejjala

Professor | DST-NRF Associate Chair: Theoretical Particle Cosmology | Research interests: High Energy Theory | Office: P120 | 011 717 6821 | vishnu.jejjala@gmail.com 

Daniel Joubert

Professor | Research interests: Condensed Matter Theory | Office: P109 | 011 717 6804 | daniel.joubert2@wits.ac.za 

Deepak Kar

Associate Professor | Research interests: High Energy Experiment and phenomenology | Office: P235 | 011 717 6958 | deepak.kar@wits.ac.za 

Jonathan Keartland

Associate Professor | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: P129 | 011 717 6849/6817 | jonathan.keartland@wits.ac.za 

Nukri Komin

Associate Professor | Research interests: Astronomy and Astrophysics | Office: P231 | 011 717 6806 | nukri.komin@wits.ac.za 

Lesias Kotane

Senior Tutor | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: P106c | 011 717 6834 | lesias.kotane@wits.ac.za 

Mukesh Kumar

Lecturer | Research interests: High Energy Experiment and phenomenology | Office: PM2 | 011 717 6858 | mukesh.kumar@wits.ac.za 

Sphesihle Makhathini

Senior Lecturer | Research interests: Radio Astronomy and Astrophysics | Office: P124 | 011 7176833 | sphesihle.makhathini@wits.ac.za

Hilary Masenda

Lecturer | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: PM3 | 011 717 6888 | hilary.masenda@wits.ac.za 

Bruce Mellado

Professor | Research interests: High Energy Experiment and phenomenology | Office: P104 | 011 717 6889 | bruce.mellado@wits.ac.za 

Nceba Mhlahlo

Lecturer | Research interests: Astronomy and Astrophysics | Office: P202 | 011 717 6831 | nceba.mhlahlo@wits.ac.za 

Mahlaga Molepo

Lecturer | Research interests: Computational Condensed Matter Physics | Office: P220 | 011 717 6827 | mahlaga.molepo@wits.ac.za 

Marjorie Mujaji

Senior Lecturer | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: P201 | 011 717 6846 | marjorie.mujaji@wits.ac.za 

Mervin Naidoo

Associate Professor | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: P204 | 011 717 6851 | mervin.naidoo@wits.ac.za 

Abhishek Pandey

Senior Lecturer | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: P234 | 011 717 6884 | abhishek.pandey@wits.ac.za

Luna Pellegri

Senior Researcher | Research interests: Nuclear and Radiation Physics | Office: 233 | 011 717 6883 | luna.pellegri@wits.ac.za 

Alex Quandt

Professor | Research interests: Condensed Matter Theory | Office: P105 | 011 717 6956 | alex.quandt@wits.ac.za 

Elias Sideras-Haddad

Professor | Research interests: Nuclear Solid State Physics | Office: P131 | 011 717 6843 | elias.sideras-haddad@wits.ac.za

Izak Snyman

Associate Professor | Research interests: Condensed Matter Theory | Office: P236 | 011 717 6883 | izak.snyman@wits.ac.za 

Xifeng Ruan

Senior Lecturer | Research interests: High Energy Experiment and phenomenology | Office: PM13 | 011 717 6954 | xifeng.ruan@wits.ac.za

Joao Rodrigues

Professor | Research interests: High Energy Theory | Office: P119 | 011 717 6837 | joao.rodrigues@wits.ac.za 

Iyabo Usman

Associate Professor | Research interests: Nuclear and Radiation Physics | Office: P223 | 011 717 6867 | iyabo.usman@wits.ac.za

Ibrahim Usman

Senior Tutor | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: P106d | 011 717 6844 | ibrahim.usman@wits.ac.za 

Daniel Wamwangi

Associate Professor | Research interests: Condensed matter experiment and materials science | Office: P126 | 011 717 6839 | daniel.wamwangi@wits.ac.za 

Share