Start main page content

Academic staff

Marianne Cronje

Professor and Head of School | Academic Thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Induction of apoptosis in cancer by photodynamic therapy or novel anti-cancer compounds | Marianne.Cronje@wits.ac.za 

Ikechukwu Achilonu

Senior Researcher | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Structure-function studies Plasmodium, Schistosoma and Mycobacterium translation elongation factors for rational drug discovery | Ikechukwu.Achilonu@wits.ac.za 

Angela Botes

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Mycology | Research field: Cryptococcus neoformans, Microbiome, Dual-virulence, TB, AIDS | Angela.Botes@wits.ac.za  

Gustav Bouwer

Associate Professor | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Biotechnology | Research field: Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology/Invertebrate Pathology/Microbial Pest Control/Biocontrol/Bacteriology | Gustav.Bouwer@wits.ac.za 

Liz Brenner

Honourary Associate Professor | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Identification of gene targets of chemical carcinogens; cellular protein folding mechanisms. Pedagogic teaching methodology | Liz.Brenner@wits.ac.za 

Sandile Buthelezi

Associate Lecturer | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research Interests: Member of Prof R. B. Veale’s Cell Biology Research Laboratory | sandile.buthelezi@wits.ac.za 

Debbie De Assis Rosa

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Genetics and Developmental Biology | Research field: Human host genetics influencing immune response to viral infection | Debbie.Deassisrosa@wits.ac.za 

Pieter De Maayer

Senior Lecturer | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Biotechnology | Research field: Prokaroytic genomics and ‘omics; extremophile biotechnology | Pieter.Demaayer@wits.ac.za  

Heinrich Dirr

Emeritus Professor | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Protein Biochemistry and Structural Biology | Heinrich.Dirr@wits.ac.za 

Sylvia Fanucchi

Senior Lecturer | Research field: Mechanism and structures of protein interactions. | Sylvia.Fanucchi@wits.ac.za 

Nikki Gentle

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Applied Bioinformatics | Research field: Immunogenetics and Functional Genomics | Nikki.Gentle@wits.ac.za 

Rupal Jivan

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Genetics and Developmental Biology | Research field: Long non-coding RNAs, Cancer Pathways | Rupal.Jivan@wits.ac.za  

Mandeep Kaur

Associate Professor and Deputy Head of School | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Cancer biomarkers, Cholesterol and Cancer link, Cancer drug discovery, Anticancer screening, Bioinformatics. Integrative Cancer Biology Research Laboratory | Mandeep.Kaur@wits.ac.za 

Tiisetso Lephoto

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Biotechnology | Research field: Microbial genomics and biological control | Tiisetso.Lephoto@wits.ac.za 

Demetra Mavri-Damelin

Associate Professor | Academic thrust: Genetics and Developmental Biology | Research field: Cancer chemotherapy and gene regulation | Demetra.Mavri-Damelin@wits.ac.za 

Vanessa Meyer

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology. Member of the Molecular Biosciences: Health for Africa Research Thrust | Research field: Hypertension, Epigenetics, Vitamin D, Gene-environment interaction | Vanessa.Meyer@wits.ac.za 

Jean Mollett

Senior Lecturer | Academic thrust: Genetics and Developmental Biology | Research field: Teaching and Learning methodology. Genetic research involving molecular markers for identifying species | Jean.Mollett@wits.ac.za 

Natalya Nikitina

Associate Professor | Academic thrust: Genetics and Developmental Biology | Research field: Developmental biology and stem cells | Natalya.Nikitina@wits.ac.za 

Chrissie Rey

Professor | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Biotechnology | Research field: Plant biotechnology and virology | Chrissie.Rey@wits.ac.za 

Karl Rumbold

Associate Professor | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Biotechnology | Research field: Broad research interest in industrial biotechnology | Karl.Rumbold@wits.ac.za 

Yasien Sayed

Professor | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Protein Biochemistry, Structural Biology, Biological Thermodynamics, Enzymology, HIV Proteins | Yasien.Sayed@wits.ac.za  

Rob Veale

Professor | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Molecular biology of cell growth, differentiation and neoplasia, with a focus on growth factor- and adhesion-based signal transduction | Rob.Veale@wits.ac.za  

Stefan Weiss

Professor | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Cancer, neurodegenerative diseases and antiageing strategies | Stefan.Weiss@wits.ac.za 

Share