Start main page content

Academic staff

Marianne Cronje

Professor and Head of School | Academic Thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Induction of apoptosis in cancer by  novel anti-cancer compounds | Marianne.Cronje@wits.ac.za 

Ikechukwu Achilonu

Senior Lecturer | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Biochemistry and structural biology of druggable proteins of pathogenic organisms | Ikechukwu.Achilonu@wits.ac.za 

Angela Botes

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Mycology | Research field: Environmental, medical and molecular mycology| Angela.Botes@wits.ac.za  

Gustav Bouwer

Associate Professor | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Biotechnology | Research field: Invertebrate Pathology, Microbial Pest Control, Agricultural Biotechnology | Gustav.Bouwer@wits.ac.za 

Sandile Buthelezi

Associate Lecturer | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research Interests: Cancer Molecular Biology - with an interest in the regulation and transduction of signals from the tumour microenvironment of solid tumours, and their role in the resistance of therapeutic interventions| sandile.buthelezi@wits.ac.za 

Debbie De Assis Rosa

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Genetics and Developmental Biology | Research field: Immunogenetics and Pharmacogenetics in host immune responses to viral infections| Debbie.Deassisrosa@wits.ac.za 

Pieter De Maayer

Associate Professor | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Biotechnology | Research field: Extremophile Genomics and Biotechnology, Microbial Evolution and Ecology| Pieter.Demaayer@wits.ac.za  

Sylvia Fanucchi

Senior Lecturer | Research field: Intermolecular interactions, biochemistry, biophysics and protein structural biology | Sylvia.Fanucchi@wits.ac.za 

Nikki Gentle

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Applied Bioinformatics | Research field: Immunogenetics and Functional Genomics | Nikki.Gentle@wits.ac.za 

Rupal Jivan

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Genetics and Developmental Biology | Research field: Long non-coding RNA function, DNA damage pathway regulation in cancer | Rupal.Jivan@wits.ac.za  

Mandeep Kaur

Professor | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Anticancer screening, Bioinformatics, Biomarker discovery, Cancer stem cells, Drug resistance | Mandeep.Kaur@wits.ac.za 

Tiisetso Lephoto

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Biotechnology | Research field: Characterisation of insect pathogenic bacteria symbiotically associated with Entomopathogenic nematodes | Tiisetso.Lephoto@wits.ac.za 

Demetra Mavri-Damelin

Associate Professor | Academic thrust: Genetics and Developmental Biology | Research field: Cancer cell metabolism and chemotherapy, gene regulation and pharmacogenetics | Demetra.Mavri-Damelin@wits.ac.za 

Vanessa Meyer

Lecturer | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology. Member of the Molecular Biosciences: Health for Africa Research Thrust | Research field: Immonugenetics and Functional Genomics | Vanessa.Meyer@wits.ac.za 

Natalya Nikitina

Associate Professor | Academic thrust: Genetics and Developmental Biology | Research field: Chicken embryology. Sex determination in birds.  Transgenic chickens for agriculture and pharmaceutial purposes | Natalya.Nikitina@wits.ac.za 

Karl Rumbold

Professor | Academic thrust: Microbiology and Biotechnology | Research field: Broad research interest in industrial biotechnology and biocatalysis | Karl.Rumbold@wits.ac.za 

Yasien Sayed

Professor | Academic thrust: Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research field: Protein Biochemistry, Structural Biology, Biological Thermodynamics, Enzymology, HIV Proteins | Yasien.Sayed@wits.ac.za  

Eloise van der Merwe

Lecturer | Academic Thrust:  Biochemistry and Cell Biology | Research Field:  Signal transduction, Alzheimer’s disease, cancer, biomarker and drug discovery | eloise.vandermerwe@wits.ac.za 

Khethelo Xulu

Lecturer | Academic Thrust: Genetics and Developmental Biology | Research Field: Neuroimmuno-psychiatric-genetics and the intersection with infectious diseases and metabolic syndrome | khethelo.xulu@wits.ac.za

 

Share