UNESCO Chair in Teacher Education for Diversity & Development
UNESCO Chair in Teacher Education for Diversity & Development
Start main page content

A Research-led Approach to Teacher Education for Diversity

The Chair's research focuses on the following themes:

  • Social justice in and through education
  • Pre-service teacher education and lifelong professional learning
  • Teaching and learning for diverse learners and diverse educational contexts
  • Comparative and international perspectives in teacher education
  • Transformation, innovation, and decolonial futures in teacher education
Our Goals
Socially just pedagogies for education.
To draw global attention to scholarly work on education.
To produce knowledge about education that is globally relevant and locally responsive.
boy in class
To lead research initiatives grounded in the concerns of educational practice.

Structure

The work of the UNESCO Chair is conducted through a Chair Forum, a strong transcontinental community of thinkers and researchers, that reconnect different parts of the world through the forum.

Forum Members

South Africa

Member

University/Organisation

Email

Prof. Ruksana Osman (Convenor)

University of the Witwatersrand

ruksana.osman@wits.ac.za

Prof. Elizabeth Walton (Co Convenor)

University of the Witwatersrand

elizabeth.walton@wits.ac.za

Prof. Felix Maringe

University of the Witwatersrand

felix.maringe@wits.ac.za

Dr Alfred Masinire

University of the Witwatersrand

alfred.masinire@wits.ac.za

Dr Thabisile Nkambule

University of the Witwatersrand

thabisile.nkambule@wits.ac.za

Dr Eunice Nyamupangedengu

University of the Witwatersrand

eunice.nyamupangedengu@wits.ac.za

Prof. Lee Rusznayk

University of the Witwatersrand

lee.rusznyak@wits.ac.za 

Dr Douglas Andrews (Post Doc)

Lonehill International Academy

Douglas.andrews@wits.ac.za

Prof. Maureen Robinson

Stellenbosch University

mrobinson@sun.ac.za

Prof. Pam Christie

University of Cape Town

pam.christie@uct.ac.za

Australia

Member

University

Email

Prof. Pam Christie

Queensland University

na

Cameroon

Member

University

Email

Prof. Therese Tchombe

University of Buea, Cameroon

tmtchombe@yahoo.co.uk

Chile

Member

University

Email

Prof. Beatrice Avalos

Universidad de Chile

avalos254@gmail.com

India

Member

University

Email

Prof. Poonam Batra

University of Delhi

batra.poonam@gmail.com

Kenya

Member

University/Organisation

Email

Dr Lester Brian Shawa

Kuhne Foundation, Nairobi

shawabr@gmail.com

Namibia

Member

University

Email

Dr Lydia Shaketange

University of Namibia

lshaketange@unam.na

Rwanda

Member

University

Email

Dr Gabriel Niyezimane

University of Rwanda

tnize09@gmail.com

Singapore

Member

University

Email

Dr David Huang

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

huang@nie.edu.sg

United Kingdom

Member

University

Email

Dr Elina Wright

Oxford University

wright@regents.ox.ac.uk

Dr Hadiza-Kere-Abdulrahman

Bishop Grosseteste University

hadiza.abdulrahman@bishopg.ac.uk 
Share