Start main page content

Wits Orthopaedic Surgery

The division of Orthopaedic Surgery of the University of the Witwatersrand is as diverse as modern South African society.

Our biggest asset is our people. We not only train registrars from South Africa but also from our neighbouring countries Botswana, Zimbabwe and Swaziland. Further afield in Africa our trainees come from Congo, Rwanda, Angola and Kenya. We are also an attractive option for trainees from the Bahamas.

Our registrars write their Fellowship exams in Orthopaedic Surgery (The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa). In addition all registrars are required to complete their Master of Medicine (MMed) before registration with the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA) as an Orthopaedic Surgeon.

The division consists of the three central units based at the Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic, Chris Hani Baragwanath Academic and Helen Joseph/ Rahima Moosa complex Hospitals. We also have training posts and consultants based at two satellite hospitals (Sebokeng and Klerksdorp/Tshepong hospitals). Consultants provide regular teaching and sub-specialty services at these hospitals.

In addition to the ubiquitous trauma, there are also several sub-specialty units. These being Arthroplasty, Spine, Upper Limb, Hands, Paediatric Orthopaedics, Tumour and Infection, and Sports (knee, foot and ankle). We offer further training in all these areas following successful completion of the Orthopaedic Surgery qualification.


Our vision is to foster a dedicated team of respected world-class orthopaedic leaders focused on teaching, mentoring, and exchanging innovative ideas in pursuit of preparing the future orthopaedic surgeon armed with all the necessary attributes to provide a value-driven, ethical, and patient-centred care of the highest standard.


Our mission is to relieve pain, restore form, improve function and ameliorate quality of life for all of our patients.