Start main page content

The Division of Infectious Diseases comprises three units based at the 3 major teaching hospitals attached to the School of Health Sciences, University of the Witwatersrand, namely Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital, Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Hospital and Helen Joseph Hospital. The Divisions at the 2 former hospitals were established in the 1980’s and at the last in the 1990’s. Although each hospital branch of the division is largely autonomous, combined activities are organized regularly to involve the fellows. These include weekly meetings at Helen Joseph Hospital which include a seminar (including by invited experts) and a case presentation by a fellow. There are monthly divisional combined academic meetings in conjunction with staff from the NHLS and NICD. There are monthly Infectious Diseases presentations at Sizwe Hospital. The Division has been accredited with the Health Professions Council since 2009. There are currently 3 fellows in the division, one at each hospital.