Start main page content


The Department is spread over 5 training sites: Chris Hani Baragwanath Academic Hospital (CHBAH), Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital (CMJAH), Helen Joseph Hospital (HJ), Rahima Moosa Hospital (RM), and Wits Donald Gordon Medical Centre (WDGMC)

Head of Department

Dr P Motshabi

Clinical heads at each site:

CMJAH: Prof E Oosthuizen

RM: Dr T Kleynstuber

WDGMC: Prof A C Lundgren

Staff Complement

The department has the following staff spread over the five sites:

Specialists: 69 full time; 7 part time

Medical officers: career PMOs 13; MOs 15

Registrars: 102

Contact Information

Please contact Dr P Motshabi via email