Human Genetics Departmental Photo
Start main page content

Division of Human Genetics

The mission of the Division is to enhance the quality of life for all South Africans through the provision of effective medical, scientific and educational services based on a commitment to excellence in skills and knowledge in the field of Human Genetics.

The Division of Human Genetics came into being in 1974 under the Headship of Prof Trefor Jenkins as part of the South African Institute for Medical Research (SAIMR) (now the National Health Laboratory Service) and University of the Witwatersrand.

 The Division runs the largest clinical & diagnostic genetics service in South Africa. We provide genetic services to both the private and State hospital sector, with the majority of our services being delivered in the State sector. We also have a vibrant training mandate, and currently offer academic programmes to health sciences undergraduate- and postgraduate students (Honours, MSc, PhD, genetic counsellors and medical registrars). 

 We have a broad range of research interests covering many areas of human genetics; including clinical genetics, genetic counseling, monogenic disorders, non-communicable disease, microbiome and population genetics.

Human Genetics

The Division runs the largest clinical & diagnostic genetics service in South Africa. We provide genetic services to both the private and State hospital sector, with the majority of our services being delivered in the State sector. We also have a vibrant training mandate, and currently offer academic programmes to health sciences undergraduate- and postgraduate students (Honours, MSc, PhD, genetic counsellors and medical registrars). 

The mission of the Division is to enhance the quality of life for all South Africans through the provision of effective medical, scientific and educational services based on a commitment to excellence in skills and knowledge in the field of Human Genetics.

We have a broad range of research interests covering many areas of human genetics; including clinical genetics, genetic counseling, monogenic disorders, non-communicable disease, microbiome and population genetics.

Staff

Prof Amanda Krause

Head of Division/Medical Geneticist
[T] 011 489 9219 | [E] amanda.krause@nhls.ac.za

Mr Andrew May

Lecturer/Medical Scientist
[T] 011 489 9222 | [E] andrew.may@nhls.ac.za

Dr Anneline Lochan

Lecturer/Medical Geneticist
[T] 011 489 9195 | [E] anneline.lochan@nhls.ac.za

Dr Bronwyn Dillon

Medical Genetics Registrar
[T] 011 489 9227 | [E] bronwyn.dillon@nhls.ac.za

Dr Candice Feben

Lecturer/Medical Geneticist
[T] 011 489 9338 | [E] candice.feben@nhls.ac.za

Ms Elana Vorster

Lecturer/Medical Scientist
[T] 011 489 9498 | [E] elana.vorster@nhls.ac.za

Ms Fahmida Essop

Lecturer/Medical Scientist
[T] 011 489 9217 | [E] fahmida.Essop@nhls.ac.za   

Ms Katryn Fourie

Lecturer/Genetic Counsellor
[T] 011 489 9236 | [E] katryn.fourie@nhls.ac.za 

Dr Lindiwe  Lamola

Lecturer
[T] 011 489 9227 | [E] lindie.lamola@wits.ac.za

Dr Louisa  Bhengu

Lecturer/Medical Geneticist
[T] 011 489 9207 | [E] Louisa.Bhengu@nhls.ac.za  

Ms Maria Mudau

Lecturer/Medical Scientist
[T] 011 489 9238 | [E] Maria.Mudau@nhls.ac.za

Ms Merlyn Glass

Lecturer/Genetic Counselling Nurse
[T] 011 489 9335 | [E] merlyn.glass@nhls.ac.za

Dr Nadia Carstens

Lecturer/Medical Scientist Intern
[T] 011 489 9230 | [E] Nadia.Carstens@wits.ac.za  

Dr Njabulo Mabaso

Medical Genetics Registrar
[T] 011 489 9227 | [E] njabulo.mabaso@nhls.ac.za

Mr Quintin Goodyear

Lecturer/Medical Scientist
[T] 011 489 9220 | [E] quintin.goodyear@nhls.ac.za

Ms Rajeshree Mahabeer

Lecturer/Medical Scientist Intern
[T] 011 489 9237 | [E] rajeshree.mahabeer@nhls.ac.za

Dr Robyn Kerr

Lecturer
[T] 011 489 9214 | [E] robyn.kerr@wits.ac.za

Dr Shelley Macaulay

Lecturer/Genetic Counselling Manager
[T] 011 489 9243 | [E] shelley.macaulay@nhls.ac.za

Ms Tabitha Haw

Lecturer/Genetic Counsellor
[T] 011 489 9233 | [E] Tabitha.Haw@nhls.ac.za

Dr Thandiswa Ngcungcu

Lecturer
[T] 011 489 9436 | [E] Thandiswa.Ngcungcu@wits.ac.za

Prof Zané Lombard

Senior Researcher/Principal Medical Scientist
[T] 011 489 9475 | [E] zane.lombard@wits.ac.za  

 

Share