Start main page content

Staff Profile

Doctor Siphiwe Dube

QualificationsBA, MA, PhD
Phone 0117174358
Organisational Unit Political Studies
ORCID 0000-0001-9080-6128

Siphiwe’s is an inter/intra-disciplinarian and his research and teaching interests include: Aesthetic Theories, African Religions and Politics (ATR / Christianities / Islams), African Diasporic Political Thought, Anti-racism Discourses (Critical Race Theory / Whiteness Studies), Black Studies (Black Consciousness / Black Aesthetics / Decoloniality), Critical Discourse Studies, Critical Masculinities (Masculinities as agents of change), Cultural Theories (Popular Cultural Critique – Hip Hop Music), Feminist and Political Theologies, Feminist Theories (including French Postmodern and Poststructuralist in English), History of Social and Political Thought, Intersectionality, Political Theory (Classical), Post-colonial Literature (Anglophone) and Theories, Qualitative Methodologies, Religious Pluralism, Social Critical Theory (Agambern / Appiah / Butler / Braidotti / Haraway / Frankfurt School / Quayson), and Transitional Justice.

Siphiwe’s overall academic work examines how contemporary religious discourses engage with gender, race, feminist theories, critical masculinity studies, transitional justice, and popular culture as sources of political expression in the contemporary era. His current research examines the extent to which religious discourses, broadly understood, have positive impact in challenging normative “hegemonic” notions of masculinities, and the attendant concepts of power, and providing avenues through which positively generative transformation is possible despite the supposedly intransigent nature of religious discourses.

Siphiwe is an author of numerous interdisciplinary peer-reviewed articles and book chapters. He has also received numerous awards, including: NRF-DST Scarce Skills Development Postdoctoral Research Fellowship (2015-2016); Faculty of Arts Postdoctoral Fellowship, Memorial University of Newfoundland (2010 – 2011); University of Toronto Fellowship (2002-2007); Norma Epstein Award for Creative Writing, University of Toronto (2003); Queen's Graduate Award, Queen’s University (2001); The Don Norton Award, Mt. Allison University (2001); The Royal Bank Academic All-Canadian Honour Roll, Mt. Allison (2000).