Start main page content

Anatomical Pathology

The Division of Anatomical Pathology is one of five departments within the School of Pathology. The department enjoys joint status as an academic and a service division within the National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS). It comprises 3 academic business units that are situated at Chris Hani Baragwanath Academic Hospital, Braamfontein (Cytopathology Unit) and at Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital.

The division provides a histology diagnostic service to approximately 65 000 patients per year, including consultations from the private sector and other academic units throughout the country. It reports approximately 190 000 cytopathology samples per year, and provides the histopathology diagnostic service for the liver transplant unit at the Donald Gordon Medical Centre. The diagnostic platform includes an immunohistochemistry facility with 200 antibodies, a renal pathology bench, a neuropathology bench, a bone marrow trephine bench, electron microscopy facility and an immunofluorescence service. An autopsy service is provided for non-medico-legal cases.

The division has a large teaching commitment to undergraduate and post-graduate students, and to medical technologists, technicians and scientists. There is a vigorous academic programme throughout the year that is conducted by registrars in training, scientists and consultant pathologists. The research activities in the division are underpinned by the MMed programme, a BSc honours programme and an intern medical scientist programme. MSc students are invited to conduct research in the Division.

The research focus is directed at the pathology of various cancers, bacterial and viral diseases. There are investigations of gene expression profiles and signalling pathways of various diseases. Validation of novel molecular markers for the development for new diagnostic and therapeutic procedures is undertaken. The research is aimed at developing human capacity in anatomical pathology and molecular pathology and is guided and supported by researcher and lecturer appointments and consultant pathologists.

Contact Information

Head of Department:

Dr Yvonne Perner

PA to Dr Perner:

Mrs Shamila Dadoo
Tel: +27 (0) 11 489 8479

General Enquiries:

Mrs Sophie Bhembe
Department Secretary
Tel: +27 (0) 11 489 8492

Physical and Mailing Address:

Room 3L25, Third Floor, Wits Medical School Division of Anatomical Pathology
Faculty of Health Sciences Campus Building
7 York Road Parktown 2193