Start main page content

29th Annual Labour Law Conference

- Lee-Anne Bruce

The Annual Labour Law Conference is now into its 29th year and is organised annually by the Universities of UCT, UKZN and Wits (CALS). It will be held this year from 24 - 25 August and has a number of excellent speakers. The plenary speakers include the Judge President of the Labour Appeal Court, Judge Basheer Waglay; the Governor of the Reserve Bank of South Africa, Mr Lesetja Kganyago; the Public Protector of SA, Adv Thuli Madonsela; the Director of the Nobel  Peace Centre in Norway, Dr Liv Torres; the Director General in the Department of Labour, Mr Thobile Lamati; the Deputy Minister in the Presidency, Mr Buti Manamela; the CEO of BUSA, Ms Khanyisile Kweyama and many others. A number of academics from Wits will be presenting at the conference and include Professors Roger Southall, Nicolas Pons-Vignon, David Dickinson, Paul Benjamin, Vishwas Satgar and Mr Gilad Isaacs. The full programme is available on the following website:

Dates: 24 - 25 August 2016

Venue: Convention Centre Emperors Palace

For further information, please contact: or (011 465 0334)