Start main page content

Wits alumni excel at NRF awards


Congratulations to our Wits alumni and researchers on their National Research Foundation awards

The awards were presented on 14 September 2017.

Professor Lyn Wadley (PhD 1987): A-rating (second time)

Shakira Choonara (BHSc 2012): Next Generation Researchers Excellence

Professor Shabir Madhi (MBBCh 1990, MMed 1999, PhD 2004): A-rating (second time)

Dr Musa Manzi (BSc 2008, BSc Hons 2009, PhD 2013): Early Career/Emerging Researcher

Dr Tiisetso Lephoto (BSc 2010, BSc Hons 2011, MSc 2013): Excellence in Science Engagement

Professor Anusuya Chinsamy-Turan (BSc 1984, BSc Hons 1985, PhD 1991): A-rating (first time)

Professor Diane Hildebrandt (BSc Eng 1981, MSc Eng 1984, PhD 1990): Champion of Research Capacity Development and Transformation at South African Higher Education Institutions

The following Wits researchers also received NRF awards:

Professor Nicky Falkof: Emerging Researcher

Professor Yevhen Zelenyuk: A-rating (first time)

Professor Chris Mathew: A-rating (first time)

Professor Derk Brouwer: A-rating (first time)

An NRF A-rating indicates a leading international researcher. Ratings are awarded on the basis of the quality and impact of the researcher's work.

Dr Carina Schlebusch (PhD 2010) has received a European Research Council Starting Grant. The NRF is the local contact point for the ERC. Dr Schlebusch is attached to Evolutionary Biology Centre at Uppsala University, Sweden.

Professor Lyn Wadley

Professor Shabir Madhi

Geophysicist Dr Musa Manzi

Dr Tiisetso Lephoto in the laboratory

 Shakira Choonara