Start main page content

Staff

This page contains a list of academic faculty and administrative staff in the School of Law, including research interests where relevant. Please see the links to the left for information about faculty and staff in the Mandela Institute, CALS, and the Law Clinic.

School of Law Academic Staff

A

Cathi Albertyn, Professor. 

Equality, Gender Studies, Human Rights, the Judiciary and Constitutional Law.
cathi.albertyn@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8467

Pamela Andanda, Professor.

Intellectual property, biotechnology, health law, bioethics, policy analysis, commercial law and governance of biomedical research.
pamela.andanda@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8449

B

Deeksha Bhana, Associate Professor.

Contract law; Horizontality and the Public-Private divide.
deeksha.bhana@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8477

Family law and gender.
elsje.bonthuys@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8429

Victoria Bronstein, Associate Professor.

Administrative law, regulation, law and economics, federalism, freedom of expression, customs and the regulation of international trade.
victoria.bronstein@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8439

C

Firoz Cachalia, Adjunct Professor.

Interests
firoz.cachalia@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8481

Lilian Chenwi, Associate Professor.

International human rights law, public international law, socio-economic rights, international criminal law, housing rights, death penalty from a human rights perspective.
lilian.chenwi@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8465

Alli Chicktay, Senior Lecturer.

Labour law and dispute resolution.
mohamed.chicktay@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8451

Desia Colgan, Lecturer.

Access to justice for poor and vulnerable communities.
desia.colgan@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8418

D

Charles De Matos-Ala, Lecturer.

International and comparative tax law, tax policy, and the regulation of money laundering.
charles.dematosala@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8473

Wesahl Domingo, Associate Professor.

Interests
wesahl.domingo@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8425

Jackie Dugard, Director of Sexual Harassment Office & Associate Professor.

Property law reform, socio-economic rights, the courts and access to justice, constitutional law, human rights law, as well as the role of law in social change.
jackie.dugard@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 9792

Meryl Du Plessis, Senior Lecturer.

Interests
meryl.duplessis@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8478

Riette du Plessis, Associate Professor.

Interests
riette.duplessis@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8442

Zozo Dyani-Mhango, Associate Professor.

International law, constitutional law and public power.
ntombizozuko.dyani-mhango@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8476 

E

Verine Etsebeth, Lecturer.

Information Security Law; Cyberlaw IT Law; Online Privacy and Corporate Accountability for International Human Rights' Violations.
verine.etsebeth@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8446

F

Malebakeng Forere, Senior Lecturer.

Interests
malebakeng.forere2@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8448

H

Cora Hoexter, Professor.

General administrative law and administrative justice, judicial review, the rule of law, the separation of powers, the judiciary and the judicial process, non-judicial functions and judicial independence, legal formalism.
cora.hoexter@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8450

Tracy-Lynn Humby, Associate Professor.

Regulating the environmental and social impacts of mining, the resilience of social-ecological ecosystems, urban resilience and climate change.
tracy-lynn.humby@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8460

I

Susan Isiko Štrba, Visitng Senior Research Fellow.

International Intellectual Property; Intellectual Property, technology and Innovation; Intellectual Property, trade and development; Public International Law.
susan.isikostrba@wits.ac.za 
27 (0) 11 717 8447

J

Vinodh Jaichand, Head of School and Professor.

Land Rights, Social, Economic and Cultural Rights, Regional Systems of Protecting Human Rights outside Europe, Access to Justice issues, and Racial Discrimination.
vinodh.jaichand@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8412

K

Judith Katzew, Lecturer.

Commercial, contract and company law, with a particular interest in insurance law.
judith.katzew@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8421

Herbert Kawadza, Senior Lecturer.

Interests
herbert.kawadza@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8456

Jonathan Klaaren, Professor.

Interests
jonathan.klaaren@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8472

M

Prinslean Mahery, Lecturer.

Interests
prinslean.mahery@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8443

Nontokozo Mahlangu, Lecturer.

Interests
nontokozo.mahlangu@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8486

Mtendeweka Mhango, Deputy Head of School.

Pension law and regulation, constitutional law, specifically separation of powers and structures of government and religious rights.
mtendeweka.mhango@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8488/12

Kasturi Moodaliyar, Associate Professor.

Competition law, criminology, criminal law and telecommunications regulation.
kasturi.moodaliyar@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8441

Jean Moore, Lecturer (Writing Centre).

Interests
jean.moore@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8407

Clement Marumoagae, Senior Lecturer.

Pension Law, Family Law, Labour Law, Insolvency Law and Legal Research & writing and Criminal Procedure.
clement.marumoagae@wits.ac.za 
27 (0) 11 717 8492

Tshepo Mosikatsana, Associate Professor.

Law, race and gender, gay/lesbian equality, adoption and child welfare law and policy.
tshepo.mosikatsana@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8475

Muriel Mushariwa, Senior Lecturer.

Medical Law, Labour Law.
muriel.mushariwa@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8444

N

Salim Nakhjavani, Associate Professor (Writing Centre).

Interests
salim.nakhjavani@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8459

Minette Nortje, Associate Professor.

Interests
minette.nortje@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8482

P

Helen Papaconstantis, Lecturer.

Interests
helen.papacostantis@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8419

Marius Pieterse, Professor.

Human rights law, constitutional law, family law, health law, and urban development.
marius.pieterse@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8452

Karmini Pillay, Senior Lecturer.

Media Law, Labour Law, Children's Health Rights and HIV/AIDS Law
karmini.pillay@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8470

S

Charmika Samaradiwakera-Wijesundara, Lecturer.

Interests
charmika.wijesundara@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8404

Engela Schlemmer, Professor.

International economic law, international law on foreign investment, international monetary law, and international business transactions law.
engelac.schlemmer@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8484

Nompumelelo Seme, Lecturer.

Interests
nompumelelo.seme@wits.ac.za 
27 (0) 11 717 8464

Sanele Sibanda, Senior Lecturer.

Constitutional law, customary law reform and the ideology of human rights with a particular focus on group rights.
sanele.sibanda@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8485

Franziska Sucker, Associate Professor.

International Economic Law (esp. WTO-law, trade linkage debates) and Public International Law.
franziska.sucker@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8466

T

Kiyasha Thambi, Senior Lecturer.

Interests
kiyasha.thambi@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 717 8453

Constantine Theophilopoulos, Associate Professor.

Law of evidence, jurisprudential foundations of criminal and civil rules of evidence.
constantine.theophilopoulos@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8487

W

Stuart Woolman, Professor.

Institutional constitutional law, bill of rights analysis, jurisprudence, applied analytic and empirical philosophy, education policy, HIV/AIDs law, consciousness studies, social capital theory, patent thickets, development economics, psychoanalytic theory, international human rights codes, sexual slavery, forced labour, refugee and immigration law, corporate social responsibility and alternative business models.
stuart.woolman@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8457

School of Law Administrative Staff

D

Ursula Dangor

Administrative Officer
ursula.dangor@wits.ac.za  
27 (0) 717 8480

Evelina Dlamini

General Clerk
evelina.dlamini@wits.ac.za 
27 (0) 717 8429

H

Vidonia Haripersad

Finance Administrator
School of Law
vidonia.haripersad@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8462

J

Claire Joseph

Postgraduate Officer
School of Law
claire.joseph@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8471

M

Sibongile Mbele

Clerical Assistant Messenger
School of Law
sibongile.mbele@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8403

Gideon Mhlongo

Administrative Assistant
School of Law
gideon.mhlongo@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8428

Malefu Mumba

Administrative Assistant
School of Law
malefu.mumba@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8403

O

Asma Ooni

Events & Conference Coordinator
School of Law
asma.ooni@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8437

P

Lerato Phiri

LLB Officer
School of Law
lerato.phiri@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8422

S

Shobhna Sugam

School Administrator 
School of Law
shobhna.sugam@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8401

W

Hafiza Wadee

Personal Assistant
School of Law
hafiza.wadee@wits.ac.za
27 (0) 11 717 8412

 

Share

Giving to Wits

School of Public Health Building

Whether you invest in a promising young student, or contribute towards vital research or new buildings and facilities – giving to Wits brings great personal satisfaction and lasting results you can be proud of for years to come.

Give to Wits