Start main page content

Staff

This page contains a list of academic staff in the School of Law, including research interests where relevant. Please see the links to the left for information about faculty and staff in the Mandela Institute, CALS, and the Law Clinic.

 

Cathi Albertyn

Equality, Gender Studies, Human Rights, the Judiciary and Constitutional Law.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8467
Email:
cathi.albertyn@wits.ac.za

Pamela Andanda

Intellectual property, biotechnology, health law, bioethics, policy analysis, commercial law and governance of biomedical research.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8449
Email:
pamela.andanda@wits.ac.za

Deeksha Bhana

Contract law; Horizontality and the Public-Private divide.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8477
Email: deeksha.bhana@wits.ac.za

Elsje Bonthuys

Family law and gender.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8429
Email: elsje.bonthuys@wits.ac.za

Victoria Bronstein

Administrative law, regulation, law and economics, federalism, freedom of expression, customs and the regulation of international trade.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8439

Email: victoria.bronstein@wits.ac.za

Firoz Cachalia

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8481
Email: firoz.cachalia@wits.ac.za

Lilian Chenwi

International human rights law, public international law, socio-economic rights, international criminal law, housing rights, death penalty from a human rights perspective.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8465
Email: lilian.chenwi@wits.ac.za

Alli Chicktay

Labour law and dispute resolution.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8451
Email: mohamed.chicktay@wits.ac.za

Desia Colgan

Access to justice for poor and vulnerable communities.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8418
Email: desia.colgan@wits.ac.za

Daven Dass

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8558
Email: Daven.Dass@wits.ac.za

Charles De Matos-Ala

International and comparative tax law, tax policy, and the regulation of money laundering.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8473
Email: charles.dematosala@wits.ac.za

Wesahl Domingo

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8425
Email: wesahl.domingo@wits.ac.za

Jackie Dugard
Director of Sexual Harassment Office

Property law reform, socio-economic rights, the courts and access to justice, constitutional law, human rights law, as well as the role of law in social change.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 9792
Email: jackie.dugard@wits.ac.za

Meryl Du Plessis

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8478
Email: meryl.duplessis@wits.ac.za

Riette du Plessis

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8442
Email: riette.duplessis@wits.ac.za

Zozo Dyani-Mhango

International law, constitutional law and public power.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8476 

Email: ntombizozuko.dyani-mhango@wits.ac.za

Verine Etsebeth

Information Security Law; Cyberlaw IT Law; Online Privacy and Corporate Accountability for International Human Rights' Violations.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8446
Email: verine.etsebeth@wits.ac.za

Malebakeng Forere

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8448
Email: malebakeng.forere2@wits.ac.za

Cora Hoexter

General administrative law and administrative justice, judicial review, the rule of law, the separation of powers, the judiciary and the judicial process, non-judicial functions and judicial independence, legal formalism.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8450
Email: cora.hoexter@wits.ac.za

Tracy-Lynn Humby

Regulating the environmental and social impacts of mining, the resilience of social-ecological ecosystems, urban resilience and climate change.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8460
Email: tracy-lynn.humby@wits.ac.za

Peter Jordi

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8559
Email: Peter.Jordi@wits.ac.za

Judith Katzew

Commercial, contract and company law, with a particular interest in insurance law.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8421

Email: judith.katzew@wits.ac.za

Herbert Kawadza

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8456
Email: herbert.kawadza@wits.ac.za

Jonathan Klaaren

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8472
Email: jonathan.klaaren@wits.ac.za

Philipa Kruger

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8556
Email: Philippa.Kruger@wits.ac.za

Prinslean Mahery

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8443
Email: prinslean.mahery@wits.ac.za

Nontokozo Mahlangu

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8486 
Email: nontokozo.mahlangu@wits.ac.za

Kasturi Moodaliyar

Competition law, criminology, criminal law and telecommunications regulation.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8441
Email: kasturi.moodaliyar@wits.ac.za

Jean Moore (Writing Centre)

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8407
Email: jean.moore@wits.ac.za

Clement Marumoagae

Pension Law, Family Law, Labour Law, Insolvency Law and Legal Research & writing and Criminal Procedure.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8492
Email: clement.marumoagae@wits.ac.za 

Tshepo Mosikatsana

Law, race and gender, gay/lesbian equality, adoption and child welfare law and policy.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8475
Email: tshepo.mosikatsana@wits.ac.za

Muriel Mushariwa

Medical Law, Labour Law.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8444

Email: muriel.mushariwa@wits.ac.za

Minette Nortje

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8482
Email: minette.nortje@wits.ac.za

Helen Papaconstantis

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8419
Email: helen.papacostantis@wits.ac.za

Marius Pieterse

Human rights law, constitutional law, family law, health law, and urban development.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8452
Email: marius.pieterse@wits.ac.za

Karmini Pillay

Media Law, Labour Law, Children's Health Rights and HIV/AIDS Law
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8470
Email: karmini.pillay@wits.ac.za

Charmika Samaradiwakera-Wijesundara

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8404
Email: charmika.wijesundara@wits.ac.za

Engela Schlemmer

International economic law, international law on foreign investment, international monetary law, and international business transactions law.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8484
Email: engelac.schlemmer@wits.ac.za

Nompumelelo Seme

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8464
Email: nompumelelo.seme@wits.ac.za 

Sanele Sibanda

Constitutional law, customary law reform and the ideology of human rights with a particular focus on group rights.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8485
Email: sanele.sibanda@wits.ac.za

Mfesane Msondezo Siboto

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8493
Email: Mfesane.Siboto@wits.ac.za

Franziska Sucker

International Economic Law (esp. WTO-law, trade linkage debates) and Public International Law.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8466
Email: franziska.sucker@wits.ac.za

Constantine Theophilopoulos

Law of evidence, jurisprudential foundations of criminal and civil rules of evidence.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8487
Email: constantine.theophilopoulos@wits.ac.za

Stephen Tuson

Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8560
Email: Stephen.Tuson@wits.ac.za

Stuart Woolman

Institutional constitutional law, bill of rights analysis, jurisprudence, applied analytic and empirical philosophy, education policy, HIV/AIDs law, consciousness studies, social capital theory, patent thickets, development economics, psychoanalytic theory, international human rights codes, sexual slavery, forced labour, refugee and immigration law, corporate social responsibility and alternative business models.
Tel: +27 (0)11 717 8457

Email: stuart.woolman@wits.ac.za

Share

Giving to Wits

School of Public Health Building

Whether you invest in a promising young student, or contribute towards vital research or new buildings and facilities – giving to Wits brings great personal satisfaction and lasting results you can be proud of for years to come.

Give to Wits