Start main page content
Computational and Applied Mathematics

Shirley Abelman

Professor Emeritus
shirley.abelman@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 717 6113 

Montaz Ali

Research Professor
montaz.ali@wits.ac.za 
(27) (0) 11 717 7193/6139
TCSE website profile
Research Interests: Stochastic Methods for Global Optimization; Optimal Control Theory; Operations Research; Mixed Integer Nonlinear Programming Problems; Large Scale Optimization

David Block

Professor
david.block@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6124

Warren Carlson

Sessional Lecturer
Warren.Carlson@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 717 6070
Research Interests: Mathematical Physics; Scientific Computing

Abdul Hamid Carrim

Associate Lecturer
abdulhamid.carrim@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 717 6118
Research Interests: Symmetry Methods for Differential Equations; Partial Differential Equations; Education

Adewunmi Fareo

Lecturer
adewunmi.fareo@wits.ac.za 
(27) (0) 
11 717 6125
Research Interests: Fluid Mechanics; Lie Symmetry Analysis of Differential Equations; Heat and Mass Transfer Problems

Bao-Zhu Guo

Professor
Bao-Zhu.Guo@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6116
Research Interests: Optimal Control Theory

Sheldon Herbst

Lecturer
Sheldon.Herbst@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6114
Research Interests: Astrophysical Fluid Dynamics; Numerical Relativity; Computational Fluid Dynamics 

Karin Hunt

Senior Tutor
Karin.Hunt@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 717 6158

Ashleigh Hutchinson

Lecturer
ashleigh.hutchinson@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6163
Research Interests: Mathematical Modelling; Turbulence; Non-Newtonian fluids; Partial Differential Equations

Byron Jacobs

Associate Professor
(27) (0) 11 717 6130
byron.jacobs@wits.ac.za
Research Interests: Numerical Methods; Signal Processing; Partial Differential Equations; Fractional Partial Differential Equations; Mathematical Modelling

Rahab Kgatle

Lecturer
rahab.kgatle@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 717 6120
Research Interests: Fluid Mechanics; Hydraulic Fractures; Nonlinear PDEs; Heat Transfer

Avnish Magan

Lecturer
avnish.magan@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 717 6120
Research Interests: Elasticity theory; Jet Flows for Non-Newtonian Fluids; Conservation Laws and Lie point Symmetries

Naeemah Modhien

Lecturer
naeemah.modhien@wits.ac.za   
(27) (0) 11 717 6142

Fazal Mahomed

Professor and Director: DST/NRF CoE
Fazal.Mahomed@wits.ac.za 
(27)(0) 11 717 6122
Research Interests: Algebraic, Geometric and Operator Methods for Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations

David Mason

Professor Emeritus
david.mason@wits.ac.za 
(27) (0) 717 6117

Walter Mudzimbabwe

Lecturer
walter.mudzimbabwe@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 717 7999
Research Interests: Computational Finance; Stochastic Optimisation; Numerical Methods; Machine Learning in Finance

Blessing Mudavanhu

Sessional Lecturer
Blessing.Mudavanhu@wits.ac.za

Terry Oliphant

Lecturer
terry.oliphant@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 717 6137
Research Interests: Continuous Nonlinear Optimisation; Discrete Nonlinear Optimisation

Kevin Pereira

Principal Tutor
kevin.pereira@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6127

Igor Rodionov

Sessional Lecturer
Igor.Rodionov@wits.ac.za

Matthews Sejeso

Associate Lecturer
matthews.sejeso@wits.ac.za
Research Interests: 
Compressed Sensing; Sparse Signal Processing; Industrial Mathematics 

Matthew Woolway

Lecturer
Matthew.Woolway@wits.ac.za 
(27) (0) 11 717 6101
Research Interests: Large Scale Optimisation; Computational Intelligence; Numerical Optimisation; Numerical Methods

Computer Science

Ritesh Ajoodha 

Associate Lecturer
Ritesh.Ajoodha@wits.ac.za 
(27) (0) 11 717 6188
Research Interests: 
Probabilistic Graphical Models Education; Bayesian Statistics Machine Learning; Knowledge Representation and Reasoning

Hairong Bau

Lecturer
hairong.bau@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6147
Research Interests: High Performance Computing; Image Processing; Computer Vision; Machine Learning

Turgay Celik

Professor and Director: NEPTTP
turgay.celik@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6168
Research Interests: 
Visual and Cognitive Computing Computer Vision Machine Learning; Data Science; Cloud Computing and Remote Sensing

Sigrid Ewert

Professor
sigrid.ewert@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6180

Steven James

Associate Lecturer
Steven.James@wits.ac.za 
(27) (0) 
11 717 6157
Research Interests: Reinforcement Learning; Transfer Learning;  Artificial Intelligence;  Deep Learning Abstraction; Learning and Planning; Monte Carlo Tree Search

Richard Klein

Lecturer
(27) (0) 11 717 6172
richard.klein@wits.ac.za
Research Interests: 
Computer Vision; Machine Learning; Deep Learning; Natural Language Processing

Phumlani Khoza

Associate Lecturer 
phumlani.khoza@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6184

Pravesh Ranchod

Senior Tutor 
(27) (0) 11 717 6171
pravesh.ranchod@wits.ac.za
Research Interests: Robotics; Reinforcement Learning; Bioinformatics; Education

Benjamin Rosman

Senior Lecturer
Benjamin.Rosman1@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6131
Research Interests: 
Reinforcement Learning; Decision Theory; Robotics; Deep Learning; Machine Learning; Education; Healthcare

Michael Sears

Visiting Professor
Michael.Sears@wits.ac.za 
(27) (0) 11 717 6183

Dmitry Shkatov

Senior Lecturer 
dmitry.shkatov@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6178

Hima Vadapalli

Senior Lecturer
hima.vadapalli@wits.ac.za
(27) (0) 11 717 6186
Research Interests: Neural Networks and Deep Learning Affect; Analysis for Human Computer Interaction; Image and Signal Processing

Clint Van Alten

Professor
clint.vanalten@wits.ac.za 
(27) (0) 11 717 6182
Research Interests: Logic; Computational Complexity; Universal Algebra; Ordered Sets and Lattices; Machine Learning

Terence Van Zyl

Senior Lecturer
terence.vanzyl@wits.ac.za 
(27) (0) 11 717 6073
Research Interests: 
Anomaly Detection; Machine Learning; Data Science; Predictive Analytics; Signal/Image Processing; Streaming Data Analytics

Share