Start main page content

Physics at Wits

The School teaches Physics to around 3000 students each year. In addition to teaching Physics to BSc students at undergraduate level, the School structures and teaches Physics to students from the Health Sciences and Engineering. 

For students who wish to pursue a career in Physics, the usual route is to first obtain a three year BSc majoring in Physics. Each of the three one-year courses build on what was covered during the previous year(s).

Three postgraduate degrees are offered in physics: the MSc and PhD degrees by dissertation, the MSc by coursework and research report, and Honours programme.

The Rules and Syllabuses booklet for the Faculty of Science contains detailed curriculum information.


Undergraduate applicants

For admissions information, entrance requirements and details on how to apply to Wits, please visit the Student Enrolment Centre website.

Postgraduate applicants

Application information for postgraduate applicants can be found by clicking here. MSc and PhD by dissertation applicants should contact the School before applying to find a supervisor.