Start main page content

Alumni Chapters

An alumni chapter is an regional, town or city based group of Witsies who want to formalise their relationship with Wits. Any alumnus may volunteer to convene a chapter. Chapters coordinate and provide opportunities for alumni to socialise and network. They organise local alumni and keep them connected to Wits. They are the official contact with the Alumni Office and Wits. Ideally conveners elect a committee. The Alumni Office provides communications and administrative support to conveners.

To convene a chapter in your region contact Purvi Purohit on 27 11 717 1093 or purvi.purohit@wits.ac.za

Africa

LESOTHO 

Semakaleng Kanetsi
President
kskanetsi@leo.co.ls

Nthabiseng Shale-Tlhomola
Vice-President
nthabis@yahoo.com

Refiloe Mphethi
Secretary
mphethir@gmail.com

Nthoesele Mohlouoa Hlaele
Treasurer
nthoeselehlaela@yahoo.com

Daniel Mohapi 
mohapidmohapi@gmail.com

Australia

MELBOURNE

Convenor: PD Mayers

Contact Address

4/692 ORRONG RD
TOORAK
MELBOURNE
VIC 3142
AUSTRALIA

Phone Number: 61 3 9827 0392
Fax Number: 61 3 9629 5999
Mobile Number: 61 4 1210 4096
Email Address: rpmayers@bigpond.net.au

Canada

TORONTO

Convenor: Garreth Elston
garreth.elston@gmail.com

Stephen Pincus
spincus@goodmans.ca

Belinda Fernandez
belinda0871@hotmail.com

Hong Kong

Convenor: Carl Bredenoord 

Mobile Number: +852 5466 3667
Email Address: carl.bredenoord@gmail.com

Ireland

DUBLIN

Convenor: Kasey Ferris 
ferris.kasey@googlemail.com

Isreal

JERUSALEM

Convenor: Les Glassman

Contact Address
P O BOX 16105
BAYIT VEGAN
JERUSALEM
91160
ISRAEL

Phone Number: +972 525522438
Email Address: Lesglassman@gmail.com

Istanbul

TURKEY

Convenor: Ali Koknar

Contact Address
FERIT TEK SOKAK NO: 23, D: 5,
MODA, KADIKOY 3471,
ISTANBUL
TURKEY

Phone Number: +90 533 346 3110
Email Address: AKoknar@aol.com

United Kingdom

NATIONWIDE REPRESENTATIVE

Convenor: Lynda Murray

Phone Number: +44(0)7570930704
Email Address: lynda.murray@wits.ac.za
twitter@WitsIntheUK
Facebook: www.facebook.com/WitsUK


EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND

Convenor: Professor James Smith

Phone Number: +44 (0)131 650 4321 [direct]
Email Address: james.smith@ed.ac.uk 

United States of America

NATIONWIDE WITS UNIVERSITY REPRESENTATIVE

Convenor: Nooshin Erfani-Ghadimi 

Phone Number: +1-425-344-7069
Email Address: Nooshin.Erfani-Ghadimi@wits.ac.za
Skype: nooshin.erfani


NEW YORK

Wits Fund Inc NYC
Convenor: Teresa O’Connell 

Phone Number: +1-201-394-3303
Email Address: teresaoconnell@rocketmail.com


HOUSTON, TEXAS

Convenor: Prof M Colman

Contact Address

1066 LONG REACH DR
GALVESTON
TX 77554

Phone Number: 409 935 2310
Fax Number: 409 747 0064
Email Address: mcolman@utmb.edu


DALLAS, TEXAS 

Convenor: Dr MA Menter

Contact Address

5230 ROYAL LN
DALLAS
TX 75229-5525

Phone Number: 214-696-5689
Fax Number: 972-490-3845
Email Address: alan@alanmenter.com


AUSTIN, TEXAS 

Convenor: Dr David Levy 

Contact Address
4140 BERKMAN DRIVE
AUSTIN
TX 78723

Phone Number: 512-331-9518
Email Address: davidlevy@rocketmail.com 

Establishing an Alumni Chapter

The purpose of a chapter is to create a sense of community and mutual support for Wits and Witsies.

How to start – volunteering to be a convenor

The convenor of an alumni chapter should have the following characteristics:

  • Willingness to work with the University
  • Willingness to contribute time
  • Enthusiasm
  • Ability to motivate and engage alumni

Guidelines

Think about what type of activities you are hoping to organize. Successful Alumni Chapters base their program on a mixture of activities. Allow the opportunity for as many people as possible to contribute. Key activities of a Chapter include:

  • organising at least one or two events or activities per year to which all alumni in the region are invited.
  • acting as a contact point for Wits in their country or region.
  • offering informal advice to alumni moving into their area.
  • acting as a local contact point for Wits e.g. offering advice to members of staff and faculty about where to stay or hold meetings when visiting their area.

How can we help?

  • The Alumni Office will provide you with information about alumni in your area.
  • We can send out mailings on your behalf to alumni in your area.
  • We will keep you informed of any Wits academics or staff visiting your area.
  • We can advise you on organising events and other activities.
  • We can send you promotional material to give to guests.
  • We will publicise your events to alumni in your area.

If you are still keen on establishing an Alumni Chapter in your region, please contact Purvi Purohit at purvi.purohit@wits.ac.za.

Share

Giving to Wits

School of Public Health Building

Whether you invest in a promising young student, or contribute towards vital research or new buildings and facilities – giving to Wits brings great personal satisfaction and lasting results you can be proud of for years to come.

Give to Wits