Start main page content

2023 Term Dates

Activity

Dates

Publication of Matric Results

Friday 20 January

First Year Registration

Friday 20 January –

Saturday 04 February (12 Days)

Welcome Day

Sunday 05 February

Gateway to Success

Tuesday 07 February –

Monday 20 February (10 Days)

Returning students registration PG and UG (including earlier date for online registration)

Friday 06 January –

Friday 17 February (31 Days)

Term starts

Tuesday 21 February

First teaching block

Tuesday 21 February –

Thursday 06 April (32 Days)

Mid-term Vacation/Study/Research break

Friday 07 April –

Friday 14 April (6 Days)

Second teaching block 

Monday 17 April –

Friday 02 June (33 Days)

Study break

Monday 05 June –

Tuesday 06 June (2 Days)

Examinations/Assessment period 

Wednesday 07 June –

Wednesday 28 June (15 Days)

Winter Vacation/Study/Research break

Thursday 29 June –

Friday 14 July (12 Days)

Third teaching block 

Monday 17 July –

Friday 01 September (34 Days)

Mid-term Vacation/Study/Research break

Monday 04 September –

Friday 8 September (5 Days)

Fourth teaching block

Monday 11 September –

Monday 23 October (31 Days)

Study break

Tuesday 24 October –

Friday 27 October (4 Days)

Examinations/Assessment period

Monday 30 October –

Friday 17 November (15 Days)

Summer Vacation/Study/Research break

Saturday 18 November

Please note:

  • Faculty of Health Sciences term dates may vary
  • Term Dates = 130 teaching days
  • Consult the University’s website for more detailed information about dates of registration for different cohorts of students

Public and Religious holidays/holy days recognised by the University in 2023

Date

Name of holiday/holy day

University status

Sunday 01 January

New Year's Day

University closed

Monday 02 January

Public Holiday

University closed

Tuesday 21 March

Human Rights Day

University closed

Thursday 23 March

1st Ramadaan (Commencement of Fasting) *

 

Friday 07 April

Good Friday

University closed

Thursday 06 April

Passover (Pesach) day 1**

 

Friday 07 April

Passover (Pesach) day 2**

 

Monday 10 April

Family Day

 University closed

Wednesday 12 April

Passover (Pesach) day 7**

 

Thursday 13 April

Passover (Pesach) day 8**

 

Saturday 22 April

Eid-ul-Fitr (Termination of Fasting) *

 

Thursday 27 April

Freedom Day

University closed

Monday 01 May

Workers’ Day

University closed

Friday 26 May

Shavuoth day 1**

 

Saturday 27 May

Shavuoth day 2**

 

Friday 16 June

Youth Day

University closed

Thursday 29 June

Eid-ul-Adha (Day of Sacrifice) *

 

Wednesday 09 August

National Women's Day

University closed

Saturday 16 September

Rosh Hashanah day 1**

 

Sunday 17 September

Rosh Hashanah day 2**

 

Sunday 24 September

Heritage Day

 University closed

Monday 25 September

Public Holiday

Yom Kippur**

 University closed

Saturday 30 September

Sukkot (day 1) **

 

Sunday 01 October

Sukkot (day 2) **

 

Saturday 07 October

Sh’mini Atzeret**

 

Sunday 08 October

Simchat Torah**

 

Sunday 12 November

(Deepavali / Luxmi Pooja (North & South)

 

Saturday 16 December

Day of Reconciliation

University closed

Monday 25 December

Christmas Day

University closed

Tuesday 26 December

Day of Goodwill

University closed

*Islamic Holy Day - commences the previous evening; the exact date depends on the sighting of the new moon

**Jewish Holy Day – All Holy days commence at sunset the evening before the date above.

Please note:

No exam will be scheduled on a recognised University holiday/holy day.

Summary of 2023 calendar for public schools – Inland Cluster

Free State, Gauteng, Limpopo, Mpumalanga and North West Provinces

Duration

No. of weeks

No. of days

No. of public holidays

Actual no. of school days

(9) 11 January - 24 March

11

53 (55)

1+1

51 (53)

12 April – 23 June

11

53

3+1

49

18 July – 29 September

11

54

2

52

10 October – 13 December (15) December

10

47 (49)

0

47 (49)

Total

43

207 (211)

6+2

199 (203)

Summary of 2023 calendar for public schools – Coastal Cluster

Eastern Cape, Kwazulu-Natal, Northern Cape and Western Cape Provinces

Duration

No. of weeks

No. of days

No. of public holidays

Actual no. of school days

(16) 18 January - 31 March

11

53 (55)

1+1

51 (53)

12 April – 23 June

11

53

3+1

49

18 July – 29 September

11

54

2

52

10 October – 13 December (15) December

10

47 (49)

0

47 (49)

Total

43

207 (211)

6+2

199 (203)

 

Share