Start main page content

2021 - 2022 Term Dates

Activity

Dates

2021

Examination/Assessment period Monday, 15 November 2021 -  Friday, 10 December 2021 (20 Days)
Marking and uploading period Tuesday, 16 November 2021 – Friday, 31 December 2021 (33 Days)

2022

Publication of Matric Results Friday, 21 January 2022
Registration
First Year Registration & First Year Experience (including academic and general orientation) Monday, 31 January – Friday, 25 February (20 Days)
Returning students registration PG and UG (including earlier date for online registration) Monday, 07 February – Saturday, 12 February (6 Days)
Term starts Monday, 28 February
First teaching block Monday, 28 February  – Wednesday, 13 April (32 Days)
Mid-term Vacation/Study/Research break Thursday, 14 April – Tuesday, 19 April (04 Days)1
Second teaching block  Wednesday, 20 April – Tuesday, 07 June (33 Days)
Study break Wednesday, 08 June – Friday, 10 June (03 Days)
Examinations  Monday, 13 June – Monday,  04 July (15 Days)
Winter Vacation/Study/Research break Tuesday, 05 July – Friday, 22 July (14 Days)
Third teaching block  Monday, 25 July – Friday, 09 September (34 Days)
Mid-term Vacation/Study/Research break Monday, 12 September – Friday, 16 September (5 Days)
Fourth teaching block Monday, 19 September – Monday, 31 October (31 Days)
Study break Tuesday, 01 November – Friday, 04 November (4 Days)
Examinations Monday, 07 November – Friday, 25 November (15 Days)
Summer Vacation/Study/Research break Tuesday, 29 November

Please note:

  • Faculty of Health Sciences term dates may vary
  • Term Dates = 130 teaching days
  • Consult the University’s website for more detailed information about dates of registration for different cohorts of students

__________________________________________________________

1 Includes two public holidays

 

Public and Religious holidays/holydays recognised by the University in 2022

Date

Name of holiday/holyday

University status

Saturday 1 January New Year's Day University closed
Monday 21 March Human Rights Day University closed
Sunday 03 April 1st Ramadaan (Commencement of Fasting) *  
Friday 15 April Good Friday University closed
Saturday 16 April Passover (Pesach) day 1**  
Sunday 17 April Passover (Pesach) day 2**  
Monday 18 April Family Day  University closed
Friday 22 April Passover (Pesach) day 7**  
Saturday 23 April Passover (Pesach) day 8**  
Wednesday 27 April Freedom Day University closed
Sunday 1 May Workers’ Day University closed
Monday 2 May Public Holiday University closed
Tuesday 3 May Eid-ul-Fitr (Termination of Fasting) *  
Sunday 05 June Shavuoth day 1**  
Monday 06 June Shavuoth day 2**  
Thursday 16 June Youth Day University closed
Sunday 10 July Eid-ul-Adha (Day of Sacrifice) *  
Tuesday 9 August National Women's Day University closed
Saturday 24 September Heritage Day  University closed
Monday 26 September Rosh Hashanah day 1**
Tuesday 27 September Rosh Hashanah day 2**  
Wednesday 05 October Yom Kippur **  
Monday 10 October Sukkot (day 1) **
Tuesday 11 October Sukkot (day 2) **  
Monday 17 October Sh’mini Atzeret**  
Tuesday 18 October Simchat Torah**  
Monday 24 October (Deepavali / Luxmi Pooja (North & South)  
Friday 16 December Day of Reconciliation University closed
Sunday 25 December Christmas Day University closed
Monday 26 December Day of Goodwill University closed

*Islamic Holy Day - commences the previous evening; exact date depends on the sighting of the new moon

**Jewish Holy Day – All Holy days commence at sunset the evening before.

Please note:

No exam will be scheduled on a recognised University holiday/holyday.

Proposed Public School Term Dates in 2022

Term

All Provinces

Term 1 To be confirmed by DBE
Term 2 To be confirmed by DBE
Term 3 To be confirmed by DBE
Term 4 To be confirmed by DBE
Share