Start main page content
Economics

Uma Kollamparambil

Head, Economics Division 
Associate Professor
uma.kollamparambil@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8113
Research interests: Economics of wellbeing, migration, inequality and foreign direct investment.

Cyril May

Deputy Head, Economics Division 
Lecturer (Dr)
cyril.may@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8104
Research interests: International finance.

Nasreen Ameen

Tutor
nasreen.ameen@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8076

Miracle Benhura

Associate Professor
miracle.benhura@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8123
Research interests: Labour and development (applied microeconomics).

Fatima Bhoola

Lecturer
fatima.bhoola@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8069
Research interests: Economic growth and macroeconomic volatility.

Manoel Bittencourt

Professor
manoel.bittencourt@wits.ac.za  
011 717 8120
Research interests: Growth and development economics.

Frikkie Booysen

Professor
frederik.booysen@wits.ac.za    
011 717 8097
Research interests: Health economics; experimental and behavioural economics.

Daniela Casale

Associate Professor
daniela.casale@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8267
Research interests: Labour economics, economic demography, gender economics, early childhood development.

Greg Ferrell

Visiting Professor
gregory.farrell@wits.ac.za
011 717 8111

Kenneth Creamer

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
kenneth.creamer@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8127
Research interests: Monetary policy, fiscal policy, macroeconomic policy, political economy and internation economics.

Giampaolo Garzarelli 

Associate Professor
Director, Institutions and Political Economy Group (IPEG)
giampaolo.garzarelli@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8128
Research interests: Internal exit, fiscal federalism, modularity, state formation, institutional complementarity, physical capital and growth.

Usanda Gqwaru 

Lecturer
usanda.gqwaru@wits.ac.za   
011 717 8115
Research interests: Development economics and industrial policy.

Tendai Gwatidzo

Associate Professor
Coordinator, African Economic Research Consortium (AERC)
tendai.gwatidzo@wits.ac.za  
011 717 8184
Research interests: Capital structure, banking sector competition, efficiency in the banking sector and access to finance.

Rubina Jogee

Lecturer
rubina.jogee@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8093
Research interests: Development economics, microeconomics and behavioural economics.

Lyndal Keeton

Lecturer (Dr)
lyndal.keeton@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8065
Research interests: Public economics, intergovernmental grants, economic history of Southern Africa, institutions, workers compensation and national lottery.

Dambala Kutela

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
dambala.kutela@wits.ac.za  
011 717 8134
Research interests: Applied econometrics, game theory, decision theory, development economics and environmental economics.

Prudence Magejo

Associate Professor
prudence.magejo@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8111
Research interests: Labour, poverty and inequality issues.

Nyasha Mahonye

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
nyasha.mahonye@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8105
Research interests: Debt, aid, institutions, financial and gender economics.

Christopher Malikane

Associate Professor
Head, The Macro-Finance Analysis Group (MFAG)
christopher.malikane@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8109
Research interests: Macroeconomics and finance related issues.

Nobantu Mbeki

Lecturer (Dr)
nobantu.mbeki@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8118
Research interests: Post keynesian pricing theory and post keynesian theory of the firm.

Mthokozisi Mlilo

Lecturer
mthokozisi.mlilo@wits.ac.za   
011 717 8099
Research interests: Macroeconomics, fisccal policy and public economics.

Tshepo Mokoka 

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
tshepo.mokoka@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8079
Research interests: Macroeconomics and finance related issues.

Lumkile Mondi

Senior Lecturer
lumkile.mondi@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8087
Research interests: Development and financial economics.

Nimisha Naik

Lecturer
nimisha.naik@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8125
Research interests: General macroeconomics.

Sibulele Nkunzi

Lecturer
Programme Coordinator, Economic Policies in the Age of Globalisation (EPOG)
sibulele.nkunzi@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8042
Research interests: Industrial Policy, trade, technology, privatization. 

Adeola Oyenubi

Lecturer
adeola.oyenubi@wits.ac.za
011 717 8365
Research interests: Programme evaluation, information theory, portfolio optimization and labour market research.

Vishnu Padayachee

Distinguished Professor
Derek Schrier and Cecily Cameron Chair in Development Economics
vishnu.padayachee@wits.ac.za   
011 717 8189

Nicolas Pons-Vignon

Senior Researcher (Dr)
Nicolas.Pons-Vignon@wits.ac.za
011 717 8096

Dorrit (Dori) Posel 

Distinguished Professor
Helen Suzman Chair in Political Economy
dorrit.posel@wits.ac.za 
011 717 1000
Research interests: Marriage and family formation, labour force participation, labour migration, economics of language and measures of wellbeing.

Gareth Roberts

Lecturer (Dr)
gareth.roberts@wits.ac.za
011 717 8103
Research interests: Evaluation of education and employment interventions. Behavioural experiments on information avoidance or empathy.

Aylit Romm

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
aylit.romm@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8137
Research interests: Decision theory, economics of uncertainty, retirement, savings and life cycle behaviours and topics analyzing microeconomic data.

Stefan Schirmer

Associate Professor
stefan.schirmer@wits.ac.za
011 717 8144
Research interests: Political economy.

Volker Schöer

Lecturer
Head: African Microeconomics Research Umbrella (AMERU)
volker.schoer@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8107
Research interests: Job search and job matching, education intervention in primary schools and RCT in transport industry.

Aldo Sitoe

Lecturer (Dr)
aldo.sitoe@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8254
Research interests: Public choice, organizational economics, fiscal federalism, theory of the firm and voting rules for an optimal provision of public goods.

Chris Torr

Visiting Professor
chris.torr@wits.ac.za

011 717 8248

Ronald Wall

Professor
ronald.wall@wits.ac.za
011 717 8999

Finance

Christo Auret

Professor
Head, Finance Division
christo.auret@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8131

Aneesa Adam

Senior Tutor
aneesa.adam@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8091

James Britten

Senior Lecturer
james.britten@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8193

Chimwemwe Chipeta

Associate Professor
chimwemwe.chipeta@wits.ac.za
011 717 8145
Research interests: Corporate finance, specifically mergers and acquisitions, IPOs, capital structure and dividend policy.

Daniel Page

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
daniel.page@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8105

Yudhvir Seetharam

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
yudhvir.seetharam@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8148
Research interests:Behavioural finance, asset pricing, FinTech, quantatative finance and risk management.

James Bernstein

Lecturer
james.bernstein@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8148

Douglas Mbululu

Lecturer
douglas.mbululu@wits.ac.za
011 717 8073

David McClelland

Lecturer
david.mcclelland@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8126
Research interests: Asset pricing, liquidity and portfolio management.

Ayesha Sayed

Lecturer
ayesha.sayed@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8499
Research interests:  Agricultural derivatives, time-series econometrics

 

Human Resource Management and Management

Olorunjuwon Michael Samuel

Associate Professor
Head, Human Resource Management and Management Division
olorunjuwon.samuel@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8124
Research interests: Broad field of human resource management, labour relations, strategic and organisational change management and organisation behaviour

Suvera Boodhoo

Lecturer (Dr)
suvera.boodhoo@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8258
Research interests: Management education and sustainable development.

Chris Callaghan

Professor and PhD Coordinator
Director, Knowledge and Information Economics/Human Resources Research Agency (KIEHRA)
chris.callaghan@wits.ac.za
011 717 8066
Research interests: Human resource management and management and innovation management.

David Coldwell

Professor
Director, Strategic Foresight Research Group (SFRG)
david.coldwell@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8077
Research interests: Strategic management, organisational behaviour, business ethics, corprate social responsibility, business research mehods and labour relations.

Aretha Mazingi

Associate Lecturer
aretha.mazingi@wits.ac.za  
011 717 8087
Research interests: Leadership, performance and talent management, employee engagement and strategic human resources management.

Althea Jansen Moodley

Lecturer
Undergraduate Coordinator, Human Resource Management and Management
althea.jansen@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8089
Research interests: Leadership,Engagement, Job Crafting, Organisational commitment and Management in the Education sector

Emmanuel Nkomo

Lecturer
Masters Coordinator
emmanuel.nkomo@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8143
Research interests: Employee motivation and retention, organisational leadership and behaviour, labour relations and human capital development.

Robert Venter

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
Master and Honours Coordinator
robert.venter@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8090
Research interests: Enterprise development, entrepreneurship, project management, indigenous knowledge and values and labour relations.

Cordelia Volker

Associate Lecturer
cordelia.volker@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8166
Research interests: Performance management, partnership relationships and local economic development.

 

Information Systems

Jason Cohen

Associate Professor
Head, Information Systems Division 
Assistant Dean, Research (CLM)
jason.cohen@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8164
Research interests: Management of IS with the service sectors of health and hospitality.

Judy Backhouse

Associate Professor
PhD course coordinator
judy.backhouse@wits.ac.za
0117178161
Research interests: Smart cities and e-government.

Jean-Marie Bancilhon

Lecturer
Honours course coordinator
jean-marie.bancilhon@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8156
Research interests: Social psychology to IS adoption in consumer contexts.

Susan Benvenuti

Lecturer
Assistant Dean, Teaching & Learning and Library (CLM)
susan.benvenuti@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8162

Lyrice Cohen

Senior Tutor
lyrice.cohen@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8153

Emma Coleman

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
Masters course coordinator 
emma.coleman@wits.ac.za   
011 717 8152
Research Interests: Research methods, social inequality, ICT4D, green IS and sustainability, mobile technologies and social media.

Thomas Grace

Lecturer
thomas.grace@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8154
Research interests: Games and game based learning.

Mitchell Hughes

Lecturer
mitchell.hughes@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8157
Research Interests: Technology in higher education, technology-mediated collaboration and communication and social media.

Ray Kekwaletswe

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
ray.kekwaletswe@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8146
Research interests: IS in government and e-governance.

Nugi Nkwe

Lecturer
nugi.nkwe1@wits.ac.za
011 717 8162

Nalukui Malambo

Lecturer  
nalukui.malambo@wits.ac.za 
0117178106

Suzanne Sackstein

Principal Tutor
suzanne.sackstein@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8158
Research interests: Adoption and use of mobile devices.

Linda Spark

Senior Tutor
linda.spark@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8163

Ernest Skinner

Tutor
ernest.skinner@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8159

Insurance and Risk Management

Albert Mushai

Lecturer
Head, Insurance and Risk Management Division 
albert.mushai@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8092

Pholile Dladla

Lecturer
pholile.dladla@wits.ac.za
011 717 8232

Justine Crossley

Lecturer
justine.crossley@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8196
Research interests: Insurance law principles, health insurance and insurance regulation.

Agata MacGregor

Lecturer
Honours course coordinator
agata.macgregor@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8080

Robert Vivian

Professor
robert.vivian@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8088

Marketing

Norman Chiliya

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
Head, Marketing Division
norman.chiliya@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8063

Richard Chinomona

Associate Professor
richard.chinomona@wits.ac.za
011 717 8284

Helen Duh

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
helen.duh@wits.ac.za
 
011 717 8217
Research interests: Brand management, consumer behaviour, social marketing and transformative consumer research.

Freddy Mgiba

Lecturer (Dr)
freddy.mgiba@wits.ac.za 
011 717 9999

Neo Phiri

Lecturer (Dr)
neo.phiri@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8047

Marike Venter-de Villiers

Senior Lecturer (Dr)
marike.venter@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8067
Research interests: Consumer behaviour, experiential marketing, retail, fashion marketing and branding.

 

Professional and Administrative Staff

Thandi Chamane

Undergraduate Administrator
thandi.chamane@wits.ac.za
011 717 8084

Larah-Ann Davids

Postgraduate Admissions Administrator
larah-ann.davids@wits.ac.za
011 717 8231

Lucia Fennessy

Postgraduate Administrator: Economics & Information Systems
lucia.fennessy@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8241

Zinhle Kubheka

HOS Office Coordinator
zinhle.kubheka@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8082

Tebogo Mmolawa

Senior Finance Officer
tebogo.mmolawa@wits.ac.za
 
011 717 8121

Siyabonga Molaba

Research Administrator
siyabonga.molaba@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8004 

Lucas Nkuna

LAN Administrator
lucas.nkuna@wits.ac.za
 
011 717 8078

Patricia Nowlotha

Undergraduate Administrator
patricia.nowlotha@wits.ac.za
 
011 717 8142

Tholoana Phoshodi

Website, Events & Communications Administrator
tholoana.phoshodi@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8151

Nomsa Qwelane

Finance Officer
nomsa.qwelane@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8240

Fikile Radebe

Administrative Assistant
fikile.radebe@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8167

Molefe Rampa

Undergraduate Administrator
molefe.rampa@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8112

Michelle van Roy

Senior Operations Administrator
michelle.vanroy@wits.ac.za
 
011 717 8119 

Irma Watson

Postgraduate Administrator: Business Sciences
irma.watson@wits.ac.za 
011 717 8095

 

Share