Start main page content

Staff and Students

Principal Investigators

Michele Ramsay, Prof - Director

Scott Hazelhurst, Prof – Principal Investigator

Christopher Mathew, Prof - Distinguished Professor


Stuart Ali, Dr - Senior Scientist

Ananyo Choudhury, Dr - Senior Scientist

Shaun Aron, Mr - Bioinformatics Consultant

Phelelani Mpangase, Mr - Bioinformatics Consultant

Freedom Mukomana, Mr - Data Administrator

Cassandra Soo, Ms - Researcher

Natalie Smyth, Ms - Research Assistant

Francisco Camina Ceballos, Dr - Postdoctoral Fellow

Standford Kwenda, Dr - Postdoctoral Fellow

Dhriti Sengupta, Dr - Postdoctoral Fellow

Liesl Henry, Ms - Postdoctoral Fellow                                                              


Project Office

Stuart Ali, Dr (AWI-Gen Project manager)

Jocelyne Gayenga, Ms (SBIMB Project manager)

Yusuf Ismail, Mr (Finance manager)

Mmatshepo Taunyane (Research administrator)


PhD Students

Godfred Agongo, Mr 

Romuald Boua, Mr 

Wenlong (Carl) Chen, Mr 

Evans Mathebula, Mr 

Thandiswa Ncgungcu, Ms

Andrew Ndhlovu, Mr

Cassandra Soo, Ms                                                                                                

Jenny Mathew, Ms


MSc Students

Jorge da Rocha, Mr

Mahtaab Hayat, Ms

Sebentile Hleli Mthimkulu, Ms

Sibongile Tshabalala, Ms

Melanie Govender, Ms                                                                                                     

Marla Willemse, Ms



Giving to Wits

School of Public Health Building

Whether you invest in a promising young student, or contribute towards vital research or new buildings and facilities – giving to Wits brings great personal satisfaction and lasting results you can be proud of for years to come.

Give to Wits