Start main page content

Health and Safety in the School of Physiology

HEALTH SAFETY REPS

 

Mrs Ashmeetha Manilall-Singh

(Room: 6A03; Tel: (011) 717 2456; e-mail: Ashmeetha.Manilall@wits.ac.za)

 

FIRST AIDERS

 

Ms Delene Nciweni

(Room: 6P06; Tel: (011) 717-2156; e-mail: Nomvuselelo.Nciweni@wits.ac.za)

Mrs Glenda Norman

(Room: 6N02; Tel: (011) 717-2482; e-mail: Glenda.Norman@wits.ac.za)

Mrs Tapiwa Chinaka

Room: 7M13; Tel: 717-2030; e-mail: Tapiwa.Chinaka@wits.ac.za)

 

EVACUATION CO-ORDINATORS

 

Mrs Glenda Norman

(Room: 6N02; Tel: (011) 717-2482; e-mail: Glenda.Norman@wits.ac.za)

Associate Professor Richard Brooksbank

(Room: 6M02; Tel: (011) 717-2253; e-mail: Richard.Brooksbank@wits.ac.za)

Mr Zipho Zwane

(Room: 7M17; Tel: 717-2562; e-mail: Zipho.Zwane@wits.ac.za)

 

LABORATORY DRESS CODE

 

To comply with both Faculty and Occupational Health Safety & Environmental Management (OHSEM) stipulations, all students are required to wear laboratory coats and closed shoes when involved in the laboratory practicals. Students must also take all reasonable precautions when in the laboratory, including wearing surgical gloves, face mask and/or safety glasses as appropriate or when instructed to do so. Failure to comply may result in expulsion from the laboratory session, the matter may also be referred to the Head of School and such failure to comply will nullify any claim for compensation in the event of accident or injury or both.

 

University of the Witwatersrand safety guides:

Wits Safety on campus

Wits University HIV and AIDS policy

OHSEM 15 Golden Rules for ensuring a safe, healthy and environmentally acceptable university

Wits Emergency Response Plan

OHSEM policy on How you can prevent Injury or Accidents

OHSEM policy on What to do in the event of a Tremor

Share