Start main page content

Wits student-athletes honoured at annual sport awards

- Tshepiso Mamatela

Witsies shone, dazzled and stole the show at the Annual Wits Sport Awards held at the Linder Auditorium in Parktown on 26 September 2019

Here, it was once-again the turn of the cohort to demonstrate why they, are among the best in the game, across their respective sporting disciplines.  Big winners on the night included Wits Basketball’s Everisto Pasipamire, who walked off with the highly-prized Sportsman of the Year gong as well as the Varsity Sport Player of the Year whilst the Basketball Club were duly honoured with the Club of the Year award.

Well deserved Sportswoman of the Year is national indoor and outdoor hockey player Robyn Johnson. Football players Shakeerah Jacobs and Saluleko Mathonsi won the Junior Sport Man and Women of the Year awards.

 A tour de force in her own right and Wits Tang Soo Do’s rising powerhouse, Anushka Monema, was awarded Full Blue colours along with landing a nod as a finalist for the much-sought Junior Sportswoman of the Year gong. Monema was also a finalist in the Sportswoman of the Year category of the 2019 Gauteng Sport Awards.

“Tang Soo Do for me is one of the few sporting codes which have managed to allow me to express myself for who I am. It has helped get the best out of me,” said the diminutive martial artist.

“Going forward, I need to get that gold and are keen for the next World Tang Soo Do Championships in order for me to achieve this. That’s what I’m preparing myself for and I just want to shine to the best of my capacity, and want to prepare myself in all the ways necessary, for me to get to where I need to be.”

Kamal Ramburuth-Hurt, a former Wits Sport Council chairperson and star hockey player at Wits Hockey, received the nod for the Breaking Boundaries award. This was in recognition for the work he has done in developing hockey at various social and recreational levels at Wits University and beyond. He spoke at length about what the award means to him, and how he hopes to continue forging a path of excellence in his contribution to the sport. “I think the award is about a contribution towards something which is bigger than just what you do on the field [of play] but also about the contributions made off the field,” said Ramburuth-Hurt.  “I think it’s also in recognition of helping to build the hockey club, and also building the Wits Hockey Development Project, which is a community-based project which seeks to further the transformation agenda in South Africa, and provide opportunities through sport, where they don’t exist.”  He added, “It’s been a great ride with the hockey club, and I’m done now. I’d like to wish them everything of the best in all their future endeavours.”

The full list of award winners are:

  • Sportsman of the Year - Everisto Pasipamere
  • Sportswoman of the Year – Robyn Johnson.
  • Junior Sportsman of the Year - Saluleko Mathonsi
  • Junior Sportswoman of the Year - Shakeerah Jacobs
  • Club of the Year - Basketball
  • Mel Siff Sportsmanship Award - Daniel Kasende  / Chad Futcher
  • Varsity Cup/Sport Player of the Year – Everisto Pasipamere
  • Student Sport Administrator of the Year - Caleb Palmer
  • Rising Star Female - Michelle Dykman / Simone Van Reenen
  • Rising Star Male - Michael Van Den Berg
  • Social Media Presence – Tang Soo Do
  • Committee of the Year – Tang Soo Do
  • Breaking Boundaries Club – Tang Soo Do
  • Breaking Boundaries Individual – Kamal Ramburuth-Hurt
  • Golden Oldie Male - Conor-Terah Brockschmidt
  • Golden Oldie Female - Rosanne Bentley