Start main page content

Wits researchers celebrated

- Kemantha Govender

Wits University honoured a number of academics for their excellence in research and postgraduate supervision at a ceremony on Wednesday, 13 April 2016.

Professor Andrew Crouch, Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Academic, thanked the awardees for their immense contributions at the event that was held at the Parktown Education Campus. “It is through your achievements that we are seen in such high regard both nationally and internationally,” said Crouch.

Crouch's sentiments were echoed by his colleague Professor Zeblon Vilakazi, Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research and Post Graduate Affairs, who said the Global South and the rest of Africa looks at Wits with an incredible measure of inspiration. Despite Wits doubling its number of NRF-rated researchers in recent years and the University’s continuous ascent in world rankings, Vilakazi believes the best is yet to come.

Professor Linda Richter, Director of the DST-NRF Centre of Excellence in Human Development and the keynote speaker, emphasised the significance of inter-disciplinary collaborations.

She said if global challenges are to be addressed, there needs to be more collaborative work with each party bringing the best their discipline can offer to the table.

“The division between the physical and social sciences is rapidly breaking down, as of those of qualitative and quantitative methods, and basic and applied research but without the loss of discipline specialisation,” said Richter.

She gave an example where a research paper that is currently being reviewed has been jointly authoured by a macroeconomist, a climatologist, a geographer and geneticist, noting that this situation was very different from when she first started working in public health.

Here is the list of researchers and academics that were honoured:

2016 A-RATED:

Professor AJ Mbembe

Professor F Luca

Professor L Manderson

Professor R Smith

Professor L Morris 

2016 A-RE RATED:

Professor C Penn

Professor C Feldman

Professor JD Lewis-Williams

Professor RN Owen-Smith

2016 RATED:

Dr U Akpojivi

Professor S Allais

Dr PW Barmby

Dr KG Behrens

Professor M Benhura

Professor R Bolhar

Professor KD Breckenridge

Professor RL Brooksbank

Professor C Chipeta

Dr KP Creamer

Dr K Dixon

Dr LC Du Toit

Dr A Ely

Dr KG Harding

Professor RS Hetem

Dr S Hirano

Professor ABR Janse van Rensburg

Dr D Kar

Professor JA Kinnaird

Dr N Komin

Dr M Langa

Dr A Le Roux-Kemp

Dr CJ Letcher

Dr DA Ligaga

Professor CP Long

Dr P Magejo

Professor FM Maringe

Professor WJM Maroun

Professor CGP Mathew

Professor MO Mhango

Professor I Mhlambi

Professor K Milner

Dr SGK Moeno

Professor M Musemwa

Dr E Musenge

Professor H Myezwa

Professor D Ojwang

Dr BS Pyper

Professor F Raal

Dr CM Sheridan

Dr L Traill

Dr DJ Woodford

2016 RE-RATED:

Professor S Abelman

Dr R Ballard

Professor Y Ballim

Professor DE Ballot

Professor M Bamford

Dr DS Brooke

Professor M Byrne

Professor L Chimuka

Professor JF Cohen

Dr ASC Cornell

Professor S Currie

Professor PN Delius

Professor KD Erlwanger

Dr M Fernandes

Professor A Fuller

Professor RL Gibson

Professor S Hazelhurst

Professor AC Horn

Professor V Houliston

Professor A Ihunwo

Professor H Janks

Professor B Kana

Professor G Lee

Professor D Levendis

Professor EN Libhaber

Professor HM Marques

Dr L Micklesfield

Professor E Momoniat

Professor OQ Munro

Professor J Naicker

Dr M Naidoo

Dr GE Olwage

Professor M Papathanasopoulos

Professor N Pillay

Professor JL Potterton

Professor MS Rollnick

Professor K Sartorius

Professor Y Sayed

Professor K Sliwa-Hahnle

Professor CJ Thurman

Professor AE Todes

Professor B Urban

Professor JS Wafer

Professor ETW Witkowski

Professor AJ Woodiwiss


Professor K Sartorius (CLM)

Professor J Muthu (EBE)

Professor F. J. Raal (HSc)

Professor G Finchilescu (Hum)

Professor J Vearey (Hum)

Professor B Mellado (Sc)

Professor S Abelman (Sc)


Professor P Pillay (CLM)

Professor T Stacey (EBE)

Professor C Tiemessen (HSc)

Professor C Penn (HUM)

Professor C De Koning (Sc)