Start main page content

Health Sciences Research Awards

Faculty Research Prize

A call for the 2017 Faculty Research Prize is now open! Closing date: 31 January 2018. Click here to apply. 

The Faculty Research Prize recognises outstanding research in a given year and is presented annually at the Faculty’s Prize Giving Ceremony (usually held in March/April). A certificate and a cash award of R10 000 (allocated to research) are awarded based on research excellence in publication.

The Faculty Research Prize for 2016 was awarded to Dr Melissa Chengalroyen for the paper:

Chengalroyen M.D, Beukes G.M, Gordhan B.G, Streicher E.M, Churchyard G, Hafner R, Warren R, Otwombe K, Martinson N, Kana B.D. Detection and Quantification of Differentially Culturable Tubercle Bacteria in Sputum from Patients with Tuberculosis. American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine. 2016; 194(12): 1532-1540. 

Most Prestigious Postgraduate Degree Awards

A call for the Most Prestigious Postgraduate Degrees Awards for 2017 is now open! Closing date: 09 February 2018. Click here to apply. 

Each year, the Faculty Research Office calls for the nomination of students who have excelled in their postgraduate studies. Awards are presented at the Faculty’s Annual Prize Giving Ceremony, which usually takes place in March. There are three categories of award:

  • Doctorate
  • Masters degrees by dissertation only
  • Masters degrees by coursework and research report

In each category, the student judged to have completed a degree of particular excellence will receive a medal and certificate for the most prestigious degree in that category. If none of the submissions are judged to be of sufficient quality, no award will be made.

The Prestigious Postgraduate Degree Awards for 2016 were awarded to the following individuals: 

Prize Name

Recipient of Prize



Title of Dissertation/Thesis/Research Report

Most Prestigious MMed Award Dr Mohamed Farzahna Clinical Medicine Professor Pravin Manga A retrospective review of hypertension control at Helen Joseph Hospital over a 3 year period
Most Prestigious Masters by Research Work: 100% Full-Time Research Award Ms Ismail Tasneem Suleman Therapeutic Sciences Professor Sandy van Vuuren The antimicrobial and chemical properties of South African propolis
Most Prestigious PhD Award Dr Michelle Groome Public Health Professor Shabir Madhi Rotavirus vaccine and diarrhoeal morbidity in South Africa

Research Awards Celebration

The Research Awards Celebration is held every year and it is aimed at recognizing those researchers in the Faculty of Health Sciences who have achieved exceptionally in different aspects related to research in a particular year. 

To view the winners for each year click on the year below: