Start main page content

Staff Per Division

Division of Curriculum

Dr Alison Kearney

Senior Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3290
 

Dr Alfred Masinire (Head of Division)

Senior Lecturer

Dr Thabisile Nkambule

Senior Lecturer & Deputy Head of Postgraduate Studies
Associate Professor & Deputy Head of School-Teaching and Learning
27 (11) 717 30004
Principal Tutor
 

Ms Bronwen Jill Wilson-Thompson

Lecturer
 

Dr Preya Pillay

Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3191
 

Professor Karin Brodie

Professor
27 (11) 717 3003
 

Dr Laura Dison

Senior Lecturer
27 (11) 717 4021
 

Dr Lynn Hewlett

Senior Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3199
 

Dr Zaheera Jina Asvat

Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3163
 
 
 
Division of Studies in Education

Associate Professor Nazir Carrim

Associate Professor
27 (11) 717 3025
 

Dr Peter Aloka

Senior Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3098
 

Dr Tanya Lee-Ann Bekker

Lecturer
tanya.bekker@wits.ac.za
27 (11) 717 3403
 

Dr Louis Botha

Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3099
 

Dr Thokozani Mathebula (Head of Division)

Senior Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3746
 

Dr Moeniera Moosa

Senior Lecturer
moeniera.moosa@wits.ac.za
27 (11) 717 3085
 

Mr Rashad Bagus

Principal Tutor
rashad.bagus@wits.ac.za
27 (11) 717 3069
 

Dr Dominic Griffiths

Senior Lecturer
 

Ms Tebello Letseka

Associate Lecturer
Educational Information & Engineering Technology

Dr Reuben Dlamini (Head of Division)

Senior Lecturer

Dr Ian Moll

Senior Lecturer 
27 (11) 717 3194
  
Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3276
 

Dr Alton Dewa

Lecturer
alton.dewa@wits.ac.za
27 (11) 717 3337
 
 
 
 
Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Dr Siphiwe Mthiyane (Head of Division)

Senior Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3092
 

Dr Francine De Clercq

Honorary Senior Researcher

Professor Brahm Fleisch

Professor
brahm.fleisch@wits.ac.za
27 (11) 717 3094
  
   
Foundation Studies Division

Dr Geeta Motilal (Head of Division)

Senior Tutor
27 (11) 717 3207
 

Dr Aletta Van As

Principal Tutor
27 (11) 717 3291
 

Katarina Earle

Senior Tutor
 

Dr Theresa Giorza

Lecturer
theresa.giorza@wits.ac.za
27 (11) 717 3301 
 

Dr Colwyn Martin

Senior Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3289
 

Corin Mathews

Senior Tutor
27 (11) 717 3051
 

Dr Anna Nkomo

Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3356
 

Mr Nicholas Lebopa

Associate Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3864
 

Manono Poo

Senior Tutor
27 (11) 717 3052
 

Valerie Ramsingh

Senior Tutor
 
Languages, Literacies and Literatures

Dr Grant Andrews

Lecturer
grant.andrews@wits.ac.za
27 (11) 717 3165
 

Dr Grant Coltman

Principal Tutor
grant.coltman@wits.ac.za
27 (11) 717 3205
 

Dr Ana Ferreira

Senior Lecturer
ana.ferreira@wits.ac.za
27 (11) 717 3179
 

Dr Ilse Fouche

Senior Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3181
 

Mrs Fikile Khuboni

Senior Tutor
 

Ms Sibongile Magwaza

Senior Tutor
 

Professor Laketi Makalela

Professor
27 (11) 717 3002
 

Dr Belinda Mendelowitz

Senior Lecturer
 

Dr Naomi Nkealah

Lecturer
naomi.nkealah@wits.ac.za
27 (11) 717 3177
 

Dr Sipho Ntombela

Lecturer
  

Dr Maria Prozesky

Senior Lecturer
 

Dr Vis Moodley (Head of Division)

Senior Lecturer
27 (11) 73187
 
Mathematics Education Division

Dr Lawan Abdulhamid

Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3468
 

Professor Jill Adler

Professor
SARChI Chair Of Mathematics Education
27 (11) 717 3413
 

Distinguished Professor Michael Askew

Distinguished Professor
27 (11) 717 3106
 

Dr Jacques du Plessis 

Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3264
 

Dr George Ekol

Senior Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3055
 

Associate Professor Anthony Essien (Head of Division)

Associate Professor
27 (11) 717 3408
 

Ms Lizeka Gcasamba

Associate Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3086
 

Ms Nontsikelelo Luxomo

Associate Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3255
 

Associate Professor Judah Makonye

Associate Profesor
27 (11) 717 3206
 

Dr Batseba Mofolo-Mbokane

Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3411 
 

Associate Professor Craig Pournara

Associate Professor 
Project Manager: Wits Maths Connect Secondary Project
27 (11) 717 3253
 

Mr Herman Tshesane

Associate Lecturer
27 (11) 717 3256
 
Professor
SA Numeracy Chair
27 (11) 717 3742
 

Mrs Maria Weitz

Tutor
27 (11) 717 3407
Science and Technology Division
Social and Economic Sciences

Dr Rene Ferguson (Head of Division)

Principal Tutor
Life Orientation: Diversity Studies, Human Rights and Democratic Citizenship Education
(27) 11 717 3168
 

Aneesa Desai

Lecturer and Psychologist
Life Orientation: Personal Development and Inclusion Studies
aneesa.desai@wits.ac.za 
(27) 11 717 3210
  

Deborah Ann Zeller

Senior Tutor
Life Orientation: Physical Education
(27) 11 717 3776
   

Dr Beverley Blake

Senior Tutor
Economic and Management Sciences Education: Business Studies
(27) 11 717 3053
  

Dr Emmanuel Ojo

Senior Lecturer
Economic and Management Sciences Education: Economics
emmanuel.ojo@wits.ac.za 
(27) 11 717 3017
 

Thanesha Rajoo

Senior Tutor
Economic and Management Sciences Education: Accounting
thanesha.rajoo@wits.ac.za
(27) 11 717 3054
 

Dr Paul Goldschagg

Lecturer
Geography and Environmental Studies
paul.goldschagg@wits.ac.za
(27) 11 717 3172
 
 

Dr Neo Lekgotla Laga Ramoupi

Senior Lecturer
History Education and Heritage Studies
(27) 11 717 3174
 

Dr Sarah Godsell

Lecturer
History Education
sarah.godsell@wits.ac.za
(27) 11 717 3841
 

Dr Roland Ndille-Ntongwe

Lecturer
History Education
 
The Hub for Multilingual Education
Share