Start main page content

Past Presidents of Convocation

1923-1924 HJ Hofmeyr BA (CGH) HonLLD (Witwatersrand)
1925-1926 Prof. CM Drennan MA (Cantab)
1927-1928 Prof. JA Wilkinson MA (Cantab)
1929 Prof. RFA Hoernlé MA BSc (Oxon)
1930-1932 TA Lawrie BCom (Witwatersrand)
1933-1936 Prof. RFA Hoernlé MA BSc (Oxon)
1937-1946 WG MacKenzie BSc(Eng) (Witwatersrand)
1947-1948 S Suzman BSc BCom (Witwatersrand)
1949-1952 WH Milton BSc(Eng) (Witwatersrand)
1953-1954 WE Marsh BCom (Witwatersrand) CA(SA)
1955-1956 J Morris BCom (Witwatersrand) CA(SA)
1957-1964 Prof. SS Israelstam BScHons MSc PhD (Witwatersrand)
1965-1966 C Adler MBBCh DPhysMed HonLLD (Witwatersrand)
1967-1970 VC Robinson BSc(Eng) (Witwatersrand)
1971-1974 SC Newman BSc(Eng) MSc(Eng) (Witwatersrand)
1975-1978 CG Hovelmeier BCom (Witwatersrand) CA(SA)
1979-1982 DE Greig BArch MArch PhD (Witwatersrand)
1983-1986 H Lampert BSc(Eng) (Witwatersrand)
1987-1992 EN Finsen BArch DipTP (Witwatersrand)
1992-1994 H Heydt BDS (Witwatersrand)
1994-1996 DA Young BSc (Witwatersrand), MEd (Witwatersrand)
1996-1998 RT Hunter BA LLB LLM (Witwatersrand)
1998-2002 Prof. J Shochot BSc Hons (Witwatersrand)
2002-2006 GS Mseleku BA LLB LLM (Taxation) HDipCoLaw (Witwatersrand)
2006-2010 Prof. DL Kolitz MCom (Witwatersrand)
2010-2010 I May BSc (Hons), MSc, PhD, MBA (Witwatersrand)
2011-2016 Prof. M Phakeng BA (ED) (UNIBO) BEd MEd PhD (Witwatersrand)

Giving to Wits

School of Public Health Building

Whether you invest in a promising young student, or contribute towards vital research or new buildings and facilities – giving to Wits brings great personal satisfaction and lasting results you can be proud of for years to come.

Give to Wits