UNIVERSITY OF THE WITWATERSRAND, JOHANNESBURG

Term Dates 2014

Activity

Dates

Registration

Monday 6 January – Thursday 6 February

Orientation week

Monday 3 February - Friday 7 February

First teaching block

Monday 10 February – Friday 28 March (34 days)

Mid-term Vacation/Study/Research break

Saturday  29 March –  Sunday 6 April (9 days)

Second teaching block

Monday 7 April – Friday 23 May (31 days)

Examinations 

Wednesday 28 May – Wednesday 25 June (20 days)

Winter Vacation/Study/Research break

Thursday 26 June – Sunday 20 July (25 days)

Third teaching block

Monday 21 July – Friday 05 September (35 days)

Mid-term Vacation/Study/Research break

Saturday 06 September – Sunday 14 September (9 days)

Fourth teaching block

Monday 15 September – Monday 27 October (30 days)

Examinations

Thursday 30 October – Wednesday 26 November (20 days)

Summer Vacation/Study/Research break

Thursday 27 November

Please note: The Faculty of Health Sciences’ term dates differ from those of the University and they may commence with lectures as early as the first working day in January.

Public and religious holidays/holydays recognised by the University in 2014

Date Name of holiday University status

Wednesday 1 January

New Year's Day

University closed

Friday 21 March

Human Rights Day

University closed

Tuesday 15 April

Pesach (day 1)**

 

Wednesday 16 April

Pesach (day 2)**

 

Friday 18 April

Good Friday

University closed

Monday 21 April

Family Day

University closed

Monday 21 April

Pesach (day 7)**

 

Tuesday 22 April

Pesach (day 8)**

 

Sunday 27 April                             

Freedom Day

University closed

Monday 28 April Public Holiday University closed

Thursday 1 May

Workers’ Day

University closed

Wednesday 4 June

Shavuoth**

 

Thursday 5 June

Shavuoth**

 

Monday 16 June

Youth Day

University closed

Saturday 28 June

First day of Ramadan*

 

Monday 28 July

Eid-ul-Fitr*

 

Saturday 9 August

National Women's Day

University closed

Wednesday 24 September

Heritage Day

University closed

Thursday 25 September

Rosh Hashanah (day 1)**

 

Friday 26 September

Rosh Hashanah (day 2)**

 

Saturday 4 October

Yom Kippur**

 

Saturday 4 October                       

Eid-ul-Adha*

 

Thursday 23 October

Diwali (South India)

 

Thursday 23 October

Diwali (North India)

 

Tuesday 16 December                   

Day of Reconciliation

University closed

Thursday 25 December

Christmas Day

University closed

Friday 26 December                       

Day of Goodwill

University closed

* = Islamic Holy Day - commences the previous evening; exact date depends on sighting of new moon

** = Jewish Holy Day - commences the previous evening

School Term Dates in 2014 

Term

Inland Provinces

Coastal Provinces

Term 1

 (13) 15 Jan - 28 March  (13) 15 Jan - 28 March

Term 2

 7 April - 27 June  7 April - 27 June

Term 3

 21 July - 3 Oct  21 July - 03 Oct

Term 4

 13 Oct - (12) 10 Dec  13 Oct - 12 (10) Dec