Wits Rugby Club

Practice: Mon, Tue & Thur 18h00-20h00 
Venue: (1) Wits Rugby Stadium (East Campus); (2) East Campus rugby fields - internal league and practices 
Head coach  Hugo van As 011717 9439; Sports officer  Yvonne Swanepoel 011 717 9417; Club chairman  Andrew Keightley-Smith; Co-ordinator  Al Leonard








Varsity Shield 2015
Monday night Varsity Rugby mania resumed in February 2015 when Wits Univ’s 1st rugby VX's began it's first year in the 2nd-tier Varsity Shield competition, after relegation from the Varsity Cup at the end of the 2014 season. We came desperately close to winning the Varsity Shield in 2015. We've made a good start, but a lot of  hard work still lies ahead to reclaim our place in the top-tier Varsity Cup competition in 2017. Here's how Wits' 2015 Varsity Shield campaign went:

Mon 2 Feb
Mon 9 Feb, 18h30
Mon 16 Feb, 18h30
Thur 19 Feb, 18h30
Mon 23 Feb :18h30
Mon 2 Mar
Mon 9 Mar, 18h30
Mon 16 Mar, 18h30
Mon 23 Mar, 18h30
Mon 30 Mar, 18h30
Mon 6 April 16h30
UFH vs Wits [24-39]
UKZN vs Wits [13-56]
Wits vs TUT [71-36]
Wits vs UWC [37-all draw]
Wits vs UFH [93-0]
Wits vs UKZN [40-26]
TUT vs Wits  [5-50]
UWC vs Wits [16-16]
Final : Wits vs UKZN Impi [24-29]









The 2015 rugby USSA's (national inter-varsity tournament) will be held 29 June - 3 July, hosted by the Univ of Johannesburg (UJ).

Pirates Grand Challenge
The Pirates Grand Challenge (PGC) under the auspices of the Golden Lions Rugby Union (GLRU) is the premier regional club competiton for Wits Rugby. We field 5 sides: u-19, u-20, and a 3rd, 2nd and 1st XV. Click here for the 2015 fixtures

Steinhoff Wits Internal Rugby League (SWIRL)
This is our annual internal rugby competition contested by mainly faculty- or residence-based teams (Commerce, Junction/Men's Res, SHA, SAUJS, Medics, Masakhane, and Noswal Hall) but includes a side each from Monash Univ and the Midrand Graduate Institute (MGI). Click here for the 2015 fixtures. Come down to the Wits Rugby Stadium grounds on Wednesdays and support your team.  

Wits Rugby Club awards
2015 winners were as follows:

Most Improved u-21 Player 
Most Improved Senior Player      
Most Dedicated Player                              
Best u-19 Player                                       
Best u-21 Player                                      
Best 3rd Team Player                                   
Best 2nd Team Player                                      
Interfaculty Trophy (League)                  
Steinhoff Shield (Knockout)                    
Varsity Cup Player of the Year                   
Coach of the Year                                             
Team of the Year                                                        
Wits Old Boys (WOBS) Special Award 
Junior Club Man of the Year                             
Club Man of the Year                                        
Player of the Year
Ziyanda Khupe 
Josh Jarvis & Ish Nkolo
Ferdinand Kelly
Michael Booyens  
Richard Crossman  
Matthew Eyre  
Khaya Twala
Steinhoff Medics
Steinhoff Medics
Brent Crossley
Robert Kent  
Khutso Magabe  & Tatenda Mtemeri
Chris Mills
Al Leonard
Thato Mavundla