The Department of Haematology is based at the Medical School of the University of the Witwatersrand (WITS) and falls under the School of Pathology of the South African Institute for Medical Research and WITS Health Faculty. The department has several active research programmes in addition to its clinical and teaching functions. In particular, efforts are focussed on the development of molecular techniques that aid the diagnosis of diseases, in order to deal with the shortage of haematologists in South Africa.

Teaching and Training

The Department of Haematology offers haematology, human genetics and medical biochemistry course for third year medical and dental students. The selective option, molecular and cell biology, is a popular choice amongst students. Tutorial teaching to fifth year students doing their medicine block is offered by the department at all teaching hospitals.

The three Teaching Hospital Laboratories are based at Johannesburg Hospital, Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital and Hillbrow Hospital.

International Students
If you are interested in doing an elective or research project in the department of Haematology, refer to the application procedures of the Faculty Office Page.