Start main page content

2017 Wits Sport Awards honours top talent

- Tshepiso Mametela

Basketball was crowned the 2017 Club of the Year with Fortunate Bosega named Sportswoman of the Year and Kaizer Maphanga Sportsman of the Year

BRAAMFONTEIN – In honour of top sporting excellence at Wits University, the annual Wits Sport Awards were held on 28 September at the Wits Sport Hall, Sturrock Park in Braamfontein.

A number of student athletes got the nod for the University’s Half-Blue Colours award – which recognises athletes who have excelled at senior club or provincial tournaments.  Recipients included Rhyno Herbst and Luvuyo Pupuma for rugby, Dwight Snyman for fencing, Paige Edwards, Tanita Ramburuth-Hurt and Madimetja Malebana for Tang Soo Do, Kamal Ramburuth-Hurt and Thabang Modise for hockey as well as Angelo Quin, Romario Farrao, Fortunate Bosega and Modiegi Mokoka for basketball.

 Full Blue Colours were awarded to Michael Stewart for aquatics, Gianni Lombard and Wandile Simelane for rugby, Titus Masike, Refilwe Gomba, Kim Lucas and Lindokuhle Mbatha for Tang Soo Do, Catherine Honegger and Roxanne Prout for gymnastics, Rusten Abrahams, Toni Marks and Petro Stoffberg for hockey and Miguel Ferrao and Everisto Pasipamire for basketball. The award honours student athletes who have paved the way towards reaching the highest level in their respective sporting careers.

 For their incredible exploits in representing South Africa on the international stage, Crystal Lee-Poulter and Jonathan Judin (karate) and Maria Combrink (athletics) were awarded Full Blue Cum Laude colours – the highest sporting accolade awarded at Wits University.

 Meanwhile, Wits Football captain and captain of the SA student team at the 2017 World Student Games in Chinese Taipei, Kaizer Maphanga walked away with the coveted Sportsman of the Year trophy, while Fortunate Bosega, regarded as arguably the best female basketball player in the country, was crowned the 2017 Sportswoman of the Year.

 The Wits Basketball club took home the coveted title of Club of the Year, with Tanita Ramburuth-Hurt honoured as Sports Administrator of the Year. The Varsity Sports Player of the Year award went to Kelly Wrensch  while Robyn Fyvie took home the Mel Siff Sportsmanship Trophy for displaying solid sportsmanship at Wits, both on and off the field. Gauteng Disabled Sportswoman of the Year Maria Combrink won the Disabled Sports Trophy.