Start main page content

WSOA rewards homebrewed talent

- Wits University

The Wits School of the Arts (WSOA), held the annual Student Tele Awards at the Wits Theatre on 26 November 2014.

Each year the annual Tele Awards celebrates the best of the student films and is arranged and hosted by the students to showcase their work to fellow students, the Faculty and the industry.

Dr Brett Pyper, Head of the Wits School of Arts, welcomed students and guests and highlighted the increased involvement of the film industry in the film division’s annual awards ceremony.  

This year saw more prizes sponsored by industry players in the form of professional work experiences offered by returning sponsors Refinery, Deepend Post Production, Splash FX, Sphere Animation, Digicape and new sponsorships from the South African Guild of Editors, the WSOA Student Representative Council, TiNT, Panavision, All About Writing, The Documentary Filmmakers Association and CineCentre Killarney, as well as a generous sponsorship from the Gauteng Film Commission.

The outgoing Head of the Film and Television Division, Damon Heatlie, welcomed Dr Tanja Sakota-Kokot as the new incoming Head of the Division.

Heatlie was impressed by the quality of the student films that were entered for this year’s awards: “The improvement in quality reflects the hard work of all staff members in bringing the new BA Film and Television degree on line.”

Heatlie was referring to the new professional degree piloted at Wits this year that builds on the institution’s more than 30 years of teaching experience in the discipline of film and television. “With the BA Film and Television degree forming the new curriculum, Wits has seen a ten-fold increase in applications for the 2015 academic year,” he added.

List of winners 

Best Cinematography – Double Negative (Cinematographer: Themba Twala)

Best Editing – Happiness (Editors: Pumulo Ngoma, Dalia Solomon, Julian van den Heever, Hankyeol Lee)

Best Sound Design – Blinding (Sound Designer: Christie Edwards)

Best Visual FX – Vice Versus (Visual FX Artist: Jason J van Rensburg)

Best Title Design – Elf (Motion Graphic Artist: Amy van Houten)

Best Director – Bomb the City (Director - Julian van den Heever)

Best Music Video – Paraffin (Filmmakers: Luke Worster and Amy van Houten)

Best Experimental – Elf (Filmmakers: Luke Worster and Amy van Houten)

Best Documentary – Women in the Dark (Filmmakers: Shameelah Kahn and Katulo Hadebe)

Best Fiction Film – Encounter (Filmmakers: Luke Worster and Katulo Hadebe)

Best Undergraduate Screenplay – The Last Sunrise (Writer: Winston Moeketsi)

Best Post Graduate Screenplay – A Long Way Home (Writer: Hermann Venter)

Best Overall Project – prize shared between: Happiness (Filmmakers: Pumulo Ngoma, Dalia Solomon, Julian van den Heever, Hankyeol Lee) and Themba (Filmmaker: Themba Twala)

Academic Awards

Most improved Student – Fumani Mabogoane        

Best Undergraduate – Nikola Pilkington

Best Postgraduate – Nikki Comninos