Start main page content

Vanguards of the future

- By Wits University

“You are the vanguards of science, the pioneers that will advance our society in the 21st Century, and the hope for our future,” said Professor Adam Habib as he addressed the participants at the 6th Cross-Faculty Graduate Symposium prize-giving ceremony.

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Research and Postgraduate Affairs, Prof. Zeblon Vilakazi echoed these statements and encouraged the participants to further their academic careers, and in so doing to advance society.   

The prize-giving ceremony on the Concourse was hosted by the Postgraduate Affairs Office on the 29th of October. “We are extremely proud of our talented students who put their best foot forward in this competitive process,” said the Head of the Postgraduate Affairs Office, Professor Mary Scholes. 


Cross-Faculty Awards
The winners of the cross-faculty oral presentations were Daniel Glaser (EBE) and Sibusio Senzani (Health Sciences) in joint first place. They received R7 000 each. There was no second prize awarded, but the third prize of R5 000 went to Monika Nowakowska from the Science Faculty.
Priya Buldeo (Humanities) made off with the first prize in the cross-faculty poster presentation with Yolanda de Figueiredo Sabino (CLM) claiming the second prize and Ravanya Naidoo from the Faculty of Science walking away in the third spot.


Faculty Oral Presentations 
The in-Faculty competitions were extremely competitive. Three awards were made for oral and poster presentations in each Faculty, with the first prize carrying a sum of R5 000, the second prize R4 000, and the third prize R3 000.  

In the oral presentations category the winners were Euphemia Godspower-Akpomiemie (CLM), Daniel Glaser (EBE), Sibusio Senzani (Health Sciences), Pamela Banda (Humanities) and Monika Nowakowska (Science). 

The second prizes were awarded to Ese Ijasan (CLM), Jonathan Lun (EBE), Anna Haw (Health Sciences), Oliver Seale (Humanities) and William Wright (Science).

The third prize winners were Marike Venter (CLM), Rodney Genga (EBE), Tamzyn Baartman (Health Sciences), Kasia Venter (Humanities) and Mashikoane Mogodi (Science).


Faculty Poster Presentations 
The first place recipients of the poster presentations by Faculty were Yolanda de Figureiredo Sabino (CLM), James Clay (EBE), Zaahida Sheik Ismail (Health Sciences), Priya Buldeo (Humanities) and Ravanya Naidoo (Science). 

Second place went to Myo Naing (CLM), Moloi Molopi (EBE), Nicholas Bacci (Health Sciences), Megan Reeves (Humanities) and Mbongiseni Dlamini (Science). 

Following closely in third place were Funa Moyo (CLM), Bright Ndebele (EBE), Mhlengi Magubane (Health Sciences), Thato Mmatli (Humanities) and Matthews Sejeso (Science).

The prize-giving ceremony was the culmination of months of extremely hard work on the part of the students, and their efforts were indeed recognised, showcased and welcomed at the ceremony. 

“Wits is indeed extremely fortunate to serve as the home of so many talented individuals,” concluded Habib.  

Read more about the Symposium and view more images here.