Welcome to the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology of the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of the Witwatersrand is responsible for teaching Obstetrics and Gynaecology to all the Undergraduate and Post Graduate students who are registered with the University.


The Department has divisions at the three major teaching hospital, namely, Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital, Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital and Rahima Moosa Hospital.  These units are responsible not only for teaching all our students, but also for providing the clinical services to manage all women who come to these hospitals during their pregnancy or for treatment of any gynaecological condition.


Obstetrics is taught to undergraduate students during their 5rd year of their training and Gynaecology during their final year of their Graduate Entry Medical Programme.  Each discipline has an annual six week rotation during which the students will get their tutorials, their practical experience and their assessment.  Students will be allocated to one of the three above mentioned hospitals for their rotations each year.


The doctors of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology play a critical role in providing services to women who present to one of these hospitals during their pregnancy, be it during their antenatal, intrapartum or postpartum period.  Naturally this involves a significant number of patients and these three hospitals alone, are responsible, for about four and a half thousand deliveries per month.  The department has developed the skills to deal with all possible emergency complications which may occur during pregnancy and has the superb back up of multidisciplinary teams to handle these problems.  A highly accomplished Maternal-Fetal Unit exists at Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital providing an excellent service which compares to that which may exist anywhere nationally.  The department strives to provide excellence in its management of women who present with gynaecological problems.  In line with this undertaking a superb gynaecological oncology unit exists where management of women with gynaecological cancer is now centralized and formalized.


The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology firmly believes in outreach programmes and is actively involved in improving services at Edenvale Hospital and Klerksdorp Hospital.


Our department is also responsible for teaching all doctors who wish to become specialists in Obstetrics and Gynaecology.  Any qualified doctor who has completed their internship and community service would be eligible to apply for a 4 year training post.  During this training period, the registrar would be expected to register for an MMed in Obstetrics and Gynaecology with the Faculty of Health Sciences, meet the requirements of the College of Medicine of South Africa (CMSA) as stipulated in their log book, pass the examinations set by the College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of the College of Medicine of South Africa and then submit a dissertation to finally obtain not only the specialist examination provided by the CMSA, but also obtain an MMed (O&G) provided by the University of Witwatersrand.