Centres of Excellence and Research Entities

Wits has 42 research entities of varying size and discipline. Of these four are funded by the Medical Research Council (MRC) of South Africa and six are funded by the Department of Science and Technology (DST) through the National Research Foundation (NRF). However, in all cases these research entities rely on external funding for the success. Listed below are the names of all the research entities with the names of their Directors.

1 Wits Reproductive Health and HIV Institute Professor H Rees
2 Wits Research Institute for Malaria Professor M Coetzee
3 Wits Institute for Social and Economic Research Professor S Nuttall
4 Society, Work and Development Institute Professor K von Holdt
5 Economic Geology Research Institute Professor J Kinnaird
6 Materials Physics Research Institute Professor E Sideras-Haddad
7 Molecular Sciences Institute Professor D Brady
8 Rock Art Research Institute Professor D Pearce
9 Evolutionary Studies Institute* Professor BS Rubidge
10 Global Change and Sustainability Research Institute* Professor B Erasmus
11 Sydney Brenner Institute for Molecular Bioscience* Professor M Ramsay 
12 Wits Mining Research Institute*
13 City Institute* Professor Noeleen Murray 
14 Mandelstam Institute for Theoretical Physics Professor JAP Rodrigues

*21st Century Research Institutes

Research Units
1 Flow Research Unit Professor BW Skews
2 Rural Public Health and Health Transitions Research Unit* Professor SP Tollman
4 Carbohydrate and Lipid Metabolism Research Unit Professor F Raal
5 Cardiovascular Pathophysiology and Genomics Research Unit Professor G Norton
6 Clinical HIV Research Unit Professor I Sanne
7 Developmental Pathways for Health Research Unit* Professor SA Norris
8 Effective Care Research Unit Professor GJ Hofmeyr
9 Antiviral Gene Therapy Research Unit Professor PB Arbuthnot
10 Pulmonary Infections Research Unit Professor C Feldman
11 Perinatal HIV Research Unit Professor G Gray
12 Respiratory and Meningeal Pathogens Research Unit* Professor K Klugman/Professor S Madhi
13 Health Communication Research Unit Professor C Penn
14 Protein Structure-Function Research Unit Professor HW Dirr
15 John Knopfmacher Centre for Applicable Analysis and Number Theory Professor A Knopfmacher
16 Hepatitis Virus Diversity Research Unit Professor A Kramvis
17 Advanced Drug Delivery Platform Research Professor V Pillay
18 Empilweni Services and Research Professor AH Coovadia
19 HIV Pathogenisis Research Professor M Papathansopoulos

* Joint Wits/Medical Research Council entities

Research Groups
1 Brain Function Research Group Professor A Fuller
2 Centre for Health Policy* Dr J Goudge
3 African Ecology and Conservation Biology Research Group Professor BFN Erasmus
4 Water in the Environment Research Group Professor KH Rogers

* Joint Wits/Medical Research Council entities

DST-NRF Centres of Excellence
1 Strong Materials Professor Lesley Cornish
2 Biomedical Tuberculosis Research; jointly with the Universities of Stellenbosch and Cape Town Dr Bavesh Kana
3 Palaeosciences Professor BS Rubidge
4 Integrated Minerals and Energy Resource Analysis (CIMERA); jointly with the University of Johannesburg Professor J Kinnaird
5 Mathematical and Statistical Sciences Professor F Mahomed
6 Human Development Professor L Richter
7 National Institute of Theoretical Physicsjointly with Universities of Stellenbosch and Kwazulu Natal Professor JAP Rodrigues
DTI / Wits Centre of Excellence
1 National Aerospace Centre Rudolph Louw
ANDI Centres of Excellence (African Network for Drug and Diagnostics Innovation)
1 Antiviral Gene Therapy Professor Patrick Arbuthnot
2 Advanced Drug Delivery Technology Professor Viness Pillay