UNIVERSITY OF THE WITWATERSRAND, JOHANNESBURG

Contact Us

Disciplines and Programmes Contacts

For Undergraduate and Postgraduate application enquiries, kindly contact the Student Enrolment Centre on 011 7171030 or visit their website on:
www.wits.ac.za/prospective/undergraduate or 
www.wits.ac.za/prospective/postgraduate 

Applicants can also view their application outcome decisions online by clicking here.

Please find below the contact details for the School of Social Sciences disciplines and inter-disciplinary programmes. Kindly refer to individual websites on the main School page for further information:

Disciplines  Programmes
Anthropology 
Molefi.Makola@wits.ac.za  
011 717 4404
African Centre for Migration and Society
teaching@migration.org.za 
011 717 4097
History
social.history@wits.ac.za 
011 717 4312
Postgraduate enquiries:
Clive.Glaser@wits.ac.za & social.history@wits.ac.za 
Demography and Population Studies
Julia.Mamabolo@wits.ac.za 
011 717 4054
International Relations
Social.IR@wits.ac.za 
011 717 4382
Development Studies
Social.DevStudies@wits.ac.za 
011 717 4437
Philosophy
Yhesmien.Hill@wits.ac.za 
011 717 4345
Global Labour University
Glu.SouthAfrica@wits.ac.za 
011 717 4443
Political Studies
Thandeka.Ndebele@wits.ac.za
011 717 4363
History NRF Chair: Local Histories, Present Realities
Zahn.Gowar@wits.ac.za  
011 717 4291
Sociology
Josephine.Mashaba@wits.ac.za (Undergraduate)
011 717 4447
Sedzani.Malada@wits.ac.za (Postgraduate)
011 717 4424
Wits Centre for Diversity Studies
info.wicds@wits.ac.za
011 717 4418

 

Head of School's Office

Mrs Rita Kruger
Phone: 27 11 7174051
Fax: 27 11 7174059
Email: soss@social.wits.ac.za

Head of School

Associate Professor Shahid Vawda
Phone: 27 11 717 4051
Emails: Shahid.Vawda@wits.ac.za 

Physical Address:
Main/East Campus
Great Hall Building
Central Block
1st Floor Room 1091 
Jan Smuts Ave
Braamfontein

Postal Address:
University of the Witwatersrand,
Private Bag 3,
WITS2050